Antigua, 2014

Promises Made Should Be Promises Kept

Brent G. Trotter
Essays & Introspection
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

--

It’s 5:37 a.m. It’s just dark enough that I still need the back-lighting on my keyboard. I’m listening to Rockie Fresh, “I Just Might” on repeat as I journal. I glance over at my peacefully sleeping wife and I’m reminded of the emerging wave of responsibilities of being a husband.

I carry my wedding vows (affectionately crafted on Evernote) in my pocket. Ever so often I read ’em to remind myself of the promises I made. Notably, I promised to strive to be the best version of myself — for us.

These past couple years, I’ve been learning, working and getting healthier and all that great stuff. I emphasize taking things one day at a time, but sometimes, well-designed goals are time-bound, too.

At some point, when people support you, believe in you or look up to you, you’ve got an obligation to do your damnedest to prove them right.

In the latest season of Gimlet Media’s podcast StartUp, they’re telling the story of Dov Charney, ex-CEO of American Apparel and his second attempt at building a successful business. In the process, promises get made. Big promises to people that put their chips in his basket to carry.

At one point Dov says, “It’s scary ’cause I don’t want to let them down. People believe I’m gonna be making this comeback. I better, I better make this comeback. I have to deliver.”

Let’s just say, all things considered, I’m rooting for Dov — in a way. I resonate with the guy.

It’s striking though that I was listening to a song called “I Just Might”, because might isn’t exactly acceptable.

If you enjoyed this piece, let me know by tapping that little heart 💚 at the bottom. Much love. ️✌️️

Brent is Co-Founder of People + Words, a content marketing and copywriting company with story, data and strategy at the center.

Connect with me: LinkedIn | Twitter | Facebook

--

--

Brent G. Trotter
Essays & Introspection

Content Design, @mozilla • Prev: @builtbyclique , @ogilvy • Paused: @peopleandwords1 • Less is more.