Android vs iPhone vs Happiness; My Consumer Itch

Ellen Hartwig
essence
Published in
2 min readOct 20, 2017
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

No, no — I’m not trying to tell you that the smartphone in your pocket is making you miserable. I view my own iPhone SE as a modern multi-tool, far too useful to replace with a neanderthal flip phone.

What I’m getting at is the constant pursuit of human happiness, and how that has somehow become distilled down into the consumer experience for so many of us. Don’t get me wrong, I am not above this, I’m not preaching from some kind of pedestal. For some, it’s cars or motorcycles, others dream of a bigger TV. I try to resist the itch as much as anyone else.

…I often fail to resist the itch.

Google’s Pixel 2 announcement hit my screen the other day and I’m still internally crying out for a preorder. Did you know if you preorder, you get a free Google Home Mini? Wow! I don’t even need one, do you?

The Google Pixel 2 comes in a very nice shade of ‘Kinda Blue’. I really want it. A blue phone, how quaint! Did you know it has the best smartphone camera ever? It does!

I can’t tell you at what point I started letting my tech purchases play into my happiness, but I’m in too deep now. Some part of me honestly thinks making the leap from iOS to Android will be refreshing, restorative. Obviously, the ‘underdog’ experience of an Android phone is just what I need to get my creative juices flowing, just what I need to find my purpose and my calm…

Honestly, the best thing for me (and many of us) is probably to throw our smartphones off the nearest cliff. You’ll never see me do it, though. Maybe once I’ve preordered my new Google Pixel 2?

--

--

Ellen Hartwig
essence
Editor for

‘millennial’. community host, musician, attempted writer.