Why ‘essence’?

Ellen Hartwig
essence
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2017

For a while now, I’ve wanted to get the ideas that swirl around in my head out onto paper. Rather, onto…blog? Especially since diving into minimalism, listening to and reading a lot of The Minimalists themselves, I thought that my own musings on simplicity and decluttering could find some space in the vastness of the worldwide web, if not for success then at least for my own sanity.

‘Essence’, I thought, encapsulated the search for clarity internally, and the desire for only the essential in terms of material possessions.

Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

Then I realised I had little to say on this topic. Sure, I had a lot of beliefs and experiences in this space, but I felt that currently, nothing I could say would be new or interesting to people already well-versed in this space.

For days I stewed on this and ended up coming to the eloquent conclusion: I have absolutely no idea what I’m talking about.

I’m 22, trying to save money and be happy despite the inevitable heat-death of the Earth creeping closer. I don’t know what my purpose is, but most days I’m happy so there’s that, at least. Every new technology that comes out makes me want to grab my credit card, my self-control flies out the window every weekend (eg. UberEATS despite a fridge full of food) and I honestly don’t believe a generation before ours has been so beset with existential dread.

Will I ever own a house? Will solar power ‘catch on’ in Australia or will gross old men like Barnaby Joyce keep cuddling coal in parliament? Do I have a job or a career? Is it worth studying post-grad or will I just snow myself further into debt? Do I actually care? Is it wrong to just want to be happy at the expense of everything else?

So I guess now I’m co-opting ‘essence’ — once my dream for a smooth, sleek and intelligible destination for musings on minimalism and mindfulness, to now represent the millennial ache for understanding and purpose. Haha.

Join me on this weird and wonderful journey towards authenticity— many of you are already on it with me, but if you want to contribute don’t hesitate to reach out. I intend to keep this space open, whether for hearty discussion or commiseration.

--

--

Ellen Hartwig
essence
Editor for

‘millennial’. community host, musician, attempted writer.