I Get Paid to Tie People Up. Does That Mean I’m a Pro-domme Now?

A diary of how I went from Creative Director of a start-up to professional bodyworker in a few months.

Ena Dahl
Essensually Ena
Published in
5 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo of me tying my friend M

It was a dark, stormy evening at the cusp of December last year. Biking against the wind on my way to Shibari training, I was close to my breaking point. I, who hardly ever cry, was bawling my eyes out, my tears mixing with freezing rain as I repeated between sobs; I’m done! I can’t do this anymore! Something has to change!

Some months earlier, the start-up I worked for received the devastating news that our lead investors were jumping ship right before signing the final contract, forcing us to shelve our project. Now, the money from my final paycheck was rapidly running out. I couldn’t claim unemployment benefits since I’d been engaged as a full-time freelancer instead of a permanent employee, and, with no feasible options that would make me the kind of money I needed to survive within a reasonable time frame, the clock was ticking—fast!

Are you ok? My Shibari teacher asked in a concerned tone as she opened the door. I’m fine, it’s just raining a lot, I lied and wiped my cheeks, put on my regular brave face, and joined the rest of my peers on the tatamis. In truth, I was far from fine and struggled to stay present…

--

--

Ena Dahl
Essensually Ena

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.