Resilience Beyond the Runway: Join the Movement to Support Megan Puleri’s Journey

Megan’s Brave Fight from Car Accident to Brain Tumour Recovery

DPW
Essential Self
4 min readMay 2, 2024

--

Source: Megan Puleri

In a recent update that has deeply moved me, Megan Puleri, the resilient fashion model whose journey I once had the honour to document, shared a deeply personal message on social media, revealing the heavy challenges she’s recently encountered.

Following a severe car accident, Megan underwent successful surgery for a brain tumour, propelling her into an arduous healing journey.

Megan’s story transcends the glamour often associated with the fashion world. Growing up in New Albany, Ohio, she defied stereotypes, describing herself as a “lengthy-goofy introverted-extrovert” more inclined towards sports and creativity than the runway.

Encouraged by her parents, who worked in fashion, Megan transitioned from sports to modelling. She went from playing soccer and lacrosse to stepping onto her first runway for a local boutique, kicking off a remarkable journey.

Collaborations with industry giants like Victoria’s Secret and Abercrombie propelled her into the spotlight, culminating in a transformative moment at the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, an experience she describes as transformative.

“Walking at the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show gave me the confidence to know I could achieve anything I set my mind to,” Megan recalls.

Taylor Hill and model Megan Puleri with singer Selena Gomez. Photograph: Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images for Victoria’s Secret

Inspired by models like Karlie Kloss, Megan saw in them a reflection of herself — tall, slender, and brimming with potential. Closing the Pink segment of the show alongside stars like Selena Gomez and Taylor Hill was a pinnacle moment, marking the achievement of her most significant goal in modelling.

However, Megan’s path hasn’t been without challenges. Behind the scenes, she grappled with the harsh realities of constant travel, loneliness, and the emotional toll of rejection, characteristic of the entertainment business. Yet, these experiences shaped her into a resilient and self-assured being and fostered a sharper understanding of herself.

“The challenges in modelling are real and intense,” Megan admits.

Moreover, Megan’s openness about her battle with anxiety and depression shed light on the mental health struggles often unspoken in the modelling industry.

“I have been on antidepressants most of my life; I decided six years ago I wanted to try a different approach,” she shares.

This decision marked the beginning of a slow and challenging process to find balance and wellness without the crutch of medication.

Under the name RUĖ ORIGINALS, her art and photography brand, she continues nurturing her passions for photography, art, and nature, offering prints and collaborations. Megan manifests a life rich with love, happiness, and fulfilment, surrounded by good food and good people.

Source: Megan Puleri.

As someone who once had the honour of interviewing Megan for DlarezMag, seeing her confront such profound challenges compels all to reflect on the power of resilience and determination. Megan’s journey has inspired us.

Megan’s partner, her puppy Freddie, and a close-knit circle of family and friends are steadfast in their support. She recently shared heartfelt insights about her accident and recovery on social media.

Let’s unite in support of Megan during this pivotal time. Whether through messages of encouragement, acts of kindness, or contributions to the recovery fund her friends started, every gesture makes a significant difference. Together, we can help Megan navigate this chapter of her life and emerge stronger.

Join the effort to empower Megan’s comeback — from her car accident to overcoming a brain tumour.

In her own words:

“On March 6th, I was injured in a serious car accident, which led to an incidental finding of a brain tumor & cyst during my hospitalization. After being in the hospital for a week, I underwent complex brain surgery. I am in the process of healing. My journey is far from over. Words cannot capture the emotions I have felt over the past month. I’ve experienced the lowest of lows, which I didn’t know existed, and the highest of highs that I didn’t know I could touch.

Thank you every single one of you who has kept me in your thoughts + prayers, sent flowers + gifts, been there for me physically + emotionally, helped me shower, kept me fed, hydrated + held me up. You each have truly made a huge impact on my life, I hope you feel my gratitude & love.

I am beyond blessed to have the support system that I do, both earthly and divine. You know who you are, and I love you. To my doctors and nurses, I am just beyond grateful. I am so lucky to be alive. I am taking things moment by moment. Thank you everyone for everything.

“No mud, no lotus.” — Thich Nhat Hanh

Forever + Always, Your Meg”

Source: Megan Puleri

Thank you for standing with Megan when it matters most. Your support is crucial to her recovery and is deeply appreciated by Megan and her loved ones.

--

--

DPW
Essential Self

From Argentina, now amidst London, I'm Julieta Miquelarena, writing under ⋆DPW⋆ Welcome to a stimulating journey of observation, poetic discovery and evolution.