My First Champions Retreat

I share my reflections on coming full circle in person.

Jeffrey D. Stewart
Essentials by Enharmonic Encounters
2 min readApr 30, 2024

--

View of downtown Vancouver from my accommodation, showing the skyline.
Photo: Author

My involvement in the Community of Certified B Corporations began on March 3, 2020, when I joined B Lab as a Standards Analyst. Reporting to the office in Berwyn, Pennsylvania, I spent eight business days immersed in onboarding activities. On Thursday, March 12, 2020, the team was informed that the office would be closed that Friday as a precautionary measure given developments of an advancing virus. Normal office operations were set to resume the following Monday. That Monday never came.

Now more than four years later, my involvement in the Community has spanned various roles. From my original role as an employee, I transitioned to partnering with B Lab as an independent contractor. I founded my own company and, as a Trained B Consultant, started supporting companies on their journey to become Certified B Corporations. Most recently, I began serving as a B Local Leader in Texas and a BIPOC Network Leader for B Lab U.S. & Canada.

I’ve performed all of these roles in a fully remote environment. Consequently, my understanding and perception of the Community has been shaped strictly through a remote lens. Despite the limitations of a head-and-shoulders frame on Zoom, I’ve been able to connect with countless individuals to capture a lot of positive impact.

Coming Full Circle In Person

When I arrived in Vancouver, British Columbia, this past March for my very first Champions Retreat, the initial reaction others had when they recognized me was heartwarming and comical. In addition to receiving many welcoming hugs, I shared a few chuckles with those surprised by my height. It was funny to imagine how the head-and-shoulders frame on Zoom can sometimes influence how we perceive others…

To read the rest of this blog, go to www.enharmonicenc.com/essentials/my-first-champions-retreat.

Jeffrey D. Stewart is the Founder and Executive Director of Enharmonic Encounters LLC, a small, Black-owned business that builds bridges toward a more unified world through expansive expertise in world languages, conscious cross-cultural communication, and positive social and environmental impact consulting toward B Certification. Partnerships result in faithfully reporting on social and environmental stewardship while also reaching stakeholders on a more global scale.

Accompany Enharmonic Encounters on its journey in generating positive impact in the world by subscribing to receive news and updates.

--

--

Jeffrey D. Stewart
Essentials by Enharmonic Encounters

Founder of Enharmonic Encounters, a small, Black-owned business building a more unified world through sustainability translation and consulting.