How people understand business network

According to Emanuela Todeva(2006), business network “facilitating relationships and exchange between individuals firms and business actors”(p.2). In another word, the formation of business network promotes the interlink of individual’s business and firm, the benefits are interchangeable. When two actors are connected, the relationship is not mutually exclusive, instead is dependent on each other. As part of the element for a business to grow, network connections are essential.

People may view the network as mutual benefits, but some may view as purely just expanding friendship web. Like Todeva (2006) explains, “the concept of business networks is similar to the concepts of culture, organization or relationship as they can mean so many things at the same time” (p.2) Depend on personal experience, the interpretation can be infinity. There is no right or wrong for which interpretation is 100% accurate. For instance, I have once asked a friend of mine how do you think a network stands, she said to have more opportunity in future. I wasn’t surprised by her answer because it seems to be the most common answer and almost everyone will give the same answer. However, when asking some people, the person’s response is to find someone that can talk to, someone that can trust, and just be friends. In today’s society, people look at “what benefits the most” more important than “who can be a friend of mine”.

After I finish reading the chapter, as I reflect on myself how I personally view network is. The answer seems to be nothing different than the most common people; to have more opportunities and connections in the future, be able to build up a strong foundation so I can be on track to achieve my goal. Furthermore, with the developing of more connections, I also believe in the possibility of finding true friendship. Maybe not the best friends, but at least friends that can hang out with.

When I look back to the past of how I build my network or precisely speaking how I make friends. I never thought about having such connection can benefit my future, not until later I realize there is a limit where I can do as of now but your connections or I call friends can push you up a bit to make the thing more achievable. That not necessarily means from now on I only make friends depend on whether or not they will be beneficial for me. I will still keep my original intention of making friends, to have people around and hang out with because their unique experience may impact me in different ways. If apply Todeva’s idea the networks are depended on each other, one day there can be a possibility within the network I can also be their helper.

References

Todeva, E. (2006). Business networks: strategy and structure. Milton Park, Oxfordshire: Routledge.

--

--