I’m Writing a Novel, Y’all

On my prolonged Medium absence.

Hal H. Harris
Established in 1865

--

Farragut Houses, the housing project where I grew up and the setting of my novel. Source: WNYC.

I learned in the last thirty days that Moana is one of the top ten Disney animated films.

I am a Great Mouse Detective fan, but my son is not; he needs bright animation and catchy songs. He’s watched Moana a million times and I found it helpful as I prepared meals and needed him out of the kitchen, away from the hot stove and popping peanut oil. The movie was only background noise at first, something that allowed me to do my daddy duties solo as my wife worked a particularly long stretch (29 of the last 31 days!)of work shifts and calls at the hospital. But after two weeks, I would cuddle up with my son and order food. He could watch Moana three times a day. I learned to watch it three times a day as well.

I have not stopped writing. I abused my Notes app to plug in ideas and outlines. I’ve sent out various pitches to no avail. I have post-it notes with quotes that have popped up in my mind. In my work notebook, I wrote down lyrics for a novel that I have outlined:

I wake up in the mornings and I tire of the fire/

No more prophets/

No more messiahs/

I’ve finally taken the plunge and am writing my first work of fiction. These last few months, I’ve bounced the ideas around in my head as my kiddo…

--

--

Hal H. Harris
Established in 1865

Black on Both Sides. Medium Writers Challenge Winner. The founder of Established in 1865. I Tweet @Established1865. E-mail is hal.harris@est1865.com.