An Open Letter to All Travelers: Stop telling me traveling is difficult.

Traveling as a Second World Citizen

Elena
Estimated Time of Arrival

--

We all come from different places. Yet we share the same passion — traveling.

As far as I can I remember myself, I dreamed of foreign lands. What is it like to hike the Inca trail? Is the Eiffel Tower that big? Do they really sell elephants in Harrods?

Endless wondering and naive curiosity dragged me to the point when I finally started earning cash and decided it is the right time to pursue my passion.

We all read these terrific stories each day. Of people working 3 jobs and saving over 20 grand in just a year to roam the world, giving up prestigious careers and opting for round the world trips instead. Selling houses, burning bridges and finally breaking free from the ugly reality into the magical world of wanderlust.

The reality hits hard on me once I stop staring at the screen and look around.

How can anyone save 20k$ in just a year when the average salary you can count on is 250$?

How can you give up a money making career when you realize there may never be another chance to make enough for a decent living? Social security, unemployment benefits, I’m sorry, but these things do not exist for me.

The power of Internet allowed me discover such amazing things as “WWOOF. ” “Volonteering” “House sitting” “Work and holiday visas” “Helpex” .

Does it all significantly cut down travel costs? Oh yes!

But, hell no! “Your nationality is not elligable for this program”

You see, traveling the world isn't free. I mean not only the money matters, but a quirky thing called “visas”.

Yes, I admit. I envy that US backpacker rushing through the custom clearance, getting his passport stamped and ready to party with his new Couchsurfing host in Barcelona/Rome/Berlin or practically any other city on Earth he would decide upon.

A typical backpacker type in shabby clothes, worn out shoes and messy hair. “Here’s your passport, sir. Enjoy your stay!” the official would say to him with a polite smile.

And there’s me. Queuing for the last half an hour, all so humble and well-dressed, ready to answer a series of standard questions:

“How long are you planning to stay?”

“Do you have return tickets home? Show me.”

“Where are you planning to live? Are those paid hotel reservations?”

“Do you have money? How much? Can you show that to me?”

“And where is your health insurance covering the full period of your stay?”

Don’t tremble. Speak confidently. No one is accusing you of anything no matter how aggressive this official sounds. I mumble these lines to myself on the days I go through another series of usual procedures.

It was never said out loud, but one of the custom officials was extremely interested why do I travel to the same country so often and what do I do for a living. Nothing related to sex industry, mister, as you may have supposed.

Yep, I should admit that women of my nationality often go abroad to earn a living this way. But does it give them a right to suspect every woman?

How can I explain that I’m not planning to stay here for good, but just want to be next to the person I love as much time as my visa allows me? There’s no special graph in visa application form for that.

The Visa Lottery. You never know what you get. A visa for the term you've requested? A longer one? A shorter or the scariest — a denial stamp to ruin your plans and chances of getting new visas?

You see, I am a twenty-something, recent grad with a mildly well paid job and some extra freelance gigs. Single. Woman. Do not own any personal property. No rich parents to support me. By default, I go to the risk category.

If I would like to get a 90 days Schengen visa, like most of you get right at the airport or simply do not need to obtain at all, I have to present at least 6.000 euro on my bank account plus paid return tickets and booked accommodation for the whole period of my stay on top to that.

Why should I present more money than an average person earns per month in the country where I’m heading to?

So, dear travelers, please, stop telling me that you can’t afford traveling.

I make at most half as much as you annually, unless you come from a similar country like mine — the place with the highest Maybach sales and retired people living on less than 100$ a month.

Please, stop telling me how difficult traveling is.

It takes around 10 min to buy a ticket from New York to ANY other city in the world, take a week break and drain your bank account a bit. Don’t waste the opportunity you have and don’t forget that there are people like me would give up anything to obtain it.

Because, you know, everyone wants to travel the world. But not everyone can do it freely.

Care for more stories of life, travels and visas or just some fancy looking photos from around the world? All can be found at Elena’s travel blog.

Image by chiklt

--

--

Elena
Estimated Time of Arrival

Twenty-something traveler, living my life between two countries - Ukraine and France.