Narva, Estonia: What’s Your Soapbox?

I asked the grade school students I was teaching to write about strong opinions and beliefs they hold. Here are some of their unedited responses.

Helen Cai
Estonian Memories
5 min readJul 12, 2021

--

7th grade

Footbal is the best sport, because any body knows it, i n footbal there are too mach great players and it great to look at them, footbal is very comfortable to watch it, in every country there is a lot of footbal clubs, footballers send alot of donations

I think we don’t need to change people’s characters around ourselves,we need to change these people.The reason is I still believe,that person can be changed he only can maintain the appearence that he have changed,but once the truth will be revealed.We also can’t change ourselves,we steal our individual and deceive not others but us at first.This is my strong opinion.

Swimming better than boxing, because swimming safer than boxing, you can’t get a lot of bruises and wounds and swimming more happy you seem to be fly.

I don’t agree that Android is better than iPhone. I think fifty fifty, because iPhone is more expensive, but iPhone has a better camera and better safety. I don’t know what else to say, because I didn’t have Android. I have iPhone, and iPhone the best mobile phone for me.

I think, laugh at a human of his appearance. it’s very ugly. Because everyone can dress what they want. Because not all people want to be like everyone else. Because not all people want to follow fashion. Some people may have little money and can’t buy good and expensive clothes. I can say a lot more, because people laughed at me too. BUT I’ve become more confident and I always try to support people who are laughed at.

I think all people are important and have the right to vote. We all are equal and we want to live in peaceful world without war. So that people should be friendly and respect others. And we should think about our planet, we live on Earth and it should be clean and with no pollution. We can’t leave from Earth and should care about it.

8th grade

I think that if teachers stop asking a lot of homework, they will not say that we cannot do this, they will not impose learning, then the children themselves will want to learn

everyone shoud have higher education. I believe in this because it’s very vital for each other. This shows that you study a lot and you deserve the best work due to fact that you put a lot of power for your education.

I think that everyone should dress just how they like. It will give chance to find people with same interests, hobbits and etc. People will be more self-confident.

9th grade

Tiktok because it’s like addiction. You’ve just sat to watch some videos and you already spent a lot of hours watching videos

I think that everyone should respect all choises other people do. We can’t live in the world there someone tells what you should wear or what kind of music you should listen. Everybody lives as they want.

10th grade

I think that everyone should respect all choises other people do. We can’t live in the world there someone tells what you should wear or what kind of music you should listen. Everybody lives as they want.

I strongly believe that family and relationship are hard work for all sides, because all members need to help, listen, spend a lot of time, tell about problems, understand. If one side will not do anything, you have not a balanced relations.

All people are equal, regardless of their skin color, religion, sexual orientation, outlook, political views, preferences in clothing, music or food and so on.

No one can take the life of another person (even if this person is sentenced to death by a court)

If we are talking about the death penalty:
-possibility of miscarriage of justice
-the death penalty is not a deterrent
-execution does not eliminate the cause of the crime does not provide an opportunity for correction
-the life of each person is a price and no one else can take it away

Education system need to be changed because it’s outdated.
- Not all knowledge and subjects that are taught to us at school are needed in life.
- Students are forced to learn what they may not need for their future profession.
- Due to the fact that students are forced, they lose the desire to learn.
Students need to be given freedom of choice, they must choose what to teach by themselves.

I believe the sinking of the Titanic is not a coincidence. Long preparation of the vessel and the crew is the reason for the due success. There are different conspiracy opinions about this event, and I share the view that the crash was orchestrated. The ship received multiple warnings about icebergs, but nevertheless continued on its way. For some reason, the team was not prepared for critical situations, which only confirms the theory. There are many more inconsistencies that make sense.

If I understood this topic correctly , soapbox means: A talk about one’s pet topic. and then I can say that I really like to communicate on different topics, but beloved, this is when I discuss my future with friends.

I believe cosmetics should be tested on animals because:
1) Without this test, many people will have a terrible allergic reaction or serious consequences.
2) In addition to cosmitology, animal tests are carried out in other regions, for example, in medicine, and this is necessary
3) There would be no progress without rabbit sacrifices.

I agree that it is necessary to listen to the advice of parents, as they have more experience. I agree that every person should have the right to choose and freedom of action

I strongly believe that reading books is better than watching movies, and here are some reasons why:
1. When you´re reading, you improve your vocabulary and grammar, imagination and you broaden your horizons
2. If we were to compare a book and a movie based on it, we would probably see a lot of misconceptions and errors in the movie
3. I think that books are overall more expressive, interesting.

11th grade

Any action has an impact on a person. Sometimes good, sometimes bad.

Schools should include economics classes.

Everyone has to work as a janitor to feel their hard work and later. this person will most likely refrain from littering where he got.

Feminism is an important movement that is still needed. Many women face problems that can be solved if society will become more equal. Feminism is not about hating men, it is about helping women, hearing them and be respectful to them

I believe that governments should spend much more on sponsoring scientific researches than they do now. I think that’s essential for the future of ourselves and future generations

--

--

Helen Cai
Estonian Memories

She/her. Chinese-American. Yale University. Fulbrighter. Math nerd. Daughter of immigrants.