The best lessons from teaching in a foreign country

Helen Cai
Estonian Memories
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2021

In the summer before my senior year of college, I was struck by panic. Seized by the sudden realization that my academic freedom would soon be staunchly terminated by medical training, I applied to the Fulbright U.S. Student Program on a whim.

In the spring of 2020, I was fortunate to receive a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) fellowship to the country of Estonia. I was delighted, honored, and humbled to receive the fellowship. Then, as we all know — a pandemic struck and suddenly put travel to a grinding halt.

For the next few months, I was stuck in limbo. As a recent graduate of the class of 2020, with postgraduate plans and opportunities disappearing into thin air, I played the game of explaining my situation to friends, families, and colleagues. What are your plans? To go to Estonia, eventually. Estonia! That’s so cool. Why Estonia? I don’t know much about that country.

It seems that the view of Estonia is not so short-sighted or myopic, but shaped by the relative lack of personal stories that are publicized. I had done my research to win a fellowship, and learned that Estonia was a country in the Baltic states, neighbored by Finland to the north and Russia to the east. I learned that Estonians had founded Skype, and that the country boasts an extremely high number of technological unicorns for its relatively small size. I found that its educational system and international English proficiency scores were highly regarded. The country is relatively nonreligious, and has a deep affinity for folk traditions, music, and nature.

The Old Town in Tallinn. Photo by Maria Geller from Pexels

I moved to Estonia in January of 2021. The country was enjoying softer coronavirus measures, and after several negative COVID tests and a two-week mandatory quarantine I was free to explore the country.

Estonians themselves appear to be aware that their country is mostly recognized as a former Soviet state — that is, if the country is recognized outside of Europe at all. Nearly every Estonian I encounter has one burning question: How did you find out about our country? Estonia is a very small country, they say. Only 1.3 million people! And yet, despite its relatively small size and low population density, the country is exceedingly complex.

I want to persuade you, the reader, of this complexity on a regional and national scale. This publication is a series of conversations I have had with Estonians of different age groups, occupations, and gender. They all have their own unique stories to tell, and lessons to share. I’ve tried my best to preserve their original voice and intention in these pieces.

(Of course, there are shortcomings: I’ve only had the ability to speak with Estonians who can communicate in English, and mostly with individuals I have come into contact with as a community educator. I must also warn you against forming generalizations. The views of individuals cannot be taken as the views of others in their workplace, their town, and most certainly not the remainder of the country.)

There’s usually a follow-up to the question of my discovery of Estonia: What do you think of our country? Many seem surprised when I express my profound appreciation. It’s my hope that you’ll be able to appreciate these remarkable individuals as well.

--

--

Helen Cai
Estonian Memories

She/her. Chinese-American. Yale University. Fulbrighter. Math nerd. Daughter of immigrants.