Spotlight on… Part 1: InPost Lockers

Spotlight on… is a new series I’m starting to shine a light on all things design, with a focus on great UX and products that aim to make our lives easier.

Georgia Cozma
Etc.Health - Research & Design
4 min readApr 10, 2024

--

I’d like to start with one that I truly love and use on a monthly basis…

InPost Lockers

I use InPost lockers A LOT. Mainly because my love for second hand clothes is out of control but it also allows pain free returns to main stream consumer brands.

If you’ve never used this service before, it is essentially a block of compartments, or lockers, in which you can put your parcels to send, or have parcels sent to you to collect.

Woman with dreds putting parcel into an InPost Locker
Example of someone using an InPost Locker

Let’s look at a high level user flow of their happy paths:

A bow and arrow user flow of the InPost flow
Pulled together to the best of my knowledge!
InPost Locker screen showing the compartment that opens
The screen showing the compartment that will open.

So why do I love this experience?

  1. It’s unbelievably easy
    I’ve gotten to the stage where I now approach the screen with my QR code ready and it immediately scans it and skips to the ‘we’re opening your compartment’ section. I take my parcel, close the door, click finish and head on my way.
  2. Delighter features
    A. The UI on the screen showing which compartment is about to open. It’s easy to just look at the block and wait, but I think this is a really nice additional touch, especially if there was an error and it got stuck, you’d be able to pin point the compartment.
    B. When you’ve finished the screen displays the length of time it took you to collect your parcel, mine usually comes out with something like 4.8 seconds — which is just so satisfying to see.
  3. It feeds into emotional design
    Knowing that your parcel will be delivered to a secure locker facility reduces daily cognitive load for people. Think of this versus, waiting around for a parcel to be delivered at home between a large time frame, leaving you with the possibility of missing your parcel, and offsetting your plans for your entire day.
  4. Regular but not overloading updates
    You’re kept informed at all the necessary stages which means you don’t get bombarded with emails and are fed knowledge on a need to know basis.
  5. The option of a low compartment
    Taking accessibility into account, this allows users that are dropping a parcel off to choose a low compartment. This could work for wheelchair users, shorter people or even those that are with children and they want to pop the parcel in!

What am I left wondering

If I sit and dig into my product designer mentality, I begin to question certain things about this experience…

Lenny waiting on The Simpsons
  1. Rural livers
    I live in a fairly affluent residential area, and have three of these lockers within a 10 minute walk radius which means it’s incredibly convenient for me. But, I wonder if these are accessible for those that live in in less populated areas. I certainly see a place for them, as it can be a pain for more rural livers to have to always drive to their local town to drop off parcels alongside running the other errands they have that can only be completed in a town setting. How would a small version of one of these locker fair in a local rural village? And how would this work for the companies operational side with a driver having to collect them in remote locations?
  2. Low compartment for collection
    I’m a huge advocate and lover of accessible and inclusive design, so I love this feature I mentioned above, for dropping parcels off, but can’t help wondering if there is a way a user can say that they need a low compartment upon collection?
  3. How accessible is support
    Having only had a good experience with this service, I’m wondering what happens if you click the ‘Get Help’ button. How accessible is help from the company?

What do you think? Have you used this service and do you like it or dislike it? Would be interested to hear about a negative experience to balance out my mostly glowing review!

--

--

Georgia Cozma
Etc.Health - Research & Design

Senior Product Designer at the BT Health Incubator in Manchester, UK.