Album of the Day — August 20

Huey Lewis and the News — Picture This

Keith R. Higgons
etc. Magazine
4 min readAug 20, 2020

--

Huey Lewis and the News — Picture This (Chrysalis Records)

20.August.2020
Huey Lewis and the News
Picture This
1982

Huey Lewis and the News are often tossed aside as a pop band who had some real success in the ’80s. The dirty secret (or News if you will) is that Huey Lewis is deeply entrenched in both classic and “alternative” rock (whatever that means.)

The band began as Clover, in the mold of Creedence Clearwater Revival, or what we may call “Alt-Country” today.

Without lead vocalist and harmonica player Huey Lewis, they released their first album in Clover, in 1970. Then the second album in 1971 called Forty-Niner, ostensibly a nod to the band’s home town of San Francisco. In both cases, they went unnoticed.

By 1976, Huey Lewis had joined Clover and met Robert John “Mutt” Lange.

Lange worked with them for their third album, Unavailable, but Lange had yet to perfect his Midas touch.

Most of the News went on to back then “punk” Elvis Costello on his debut album, My Aim is True. Yep, the majority of Clover is credited as The Shamrocks on that album.

Meanwhile, Lewis went to work with Irish band Thin Lizzy, contributing harmonica to the song “Baby Drives Me Crazy,” recorded onstage for the classic Live and Dangerous album.

Nonetheless, Clover soldiered on and toured relentlessly, opening for the likes of or Lynyrd Skynyrd, Thin Lizzy and Graham Parker and The Rumour in the UK during the late 1970s. The band eventually found themselves stateside before changing their name and landing a deal with Chrysalis Records.

Tenacious = Huey Lewis and the News.

The band released the self-titled Huey Lewis and the News (after changing their name from the potentially litigious name of American Express) in 1980 on Chrysalis, where it was aggressively ignored.

However, good fortune shined on them when they reconvened to record their second album, Picture This. As luck would have it, old pal Robert John “Mutt” Lange had discovered his Midas touch (producing AC/DC’s seminal Back in Black and he began his relationship with Def Leppard).

This time the band chose to self-produce, and Lange, always a songwriter, gave them their first Billboard Top Ten hit with “Do You Believe in Love?”

Love has a tendency to pop-up when you’re least expecting it, and perhaps even when you don’t want it. But there it is.

Do You Believe in Love?

I was walking down a one-way street
Just a-lookin’ for someone to meet
One woman who was looking for a man
Now I’m hopin’ (hopin’) that the feeling is right
And I’m wonderin’ (wonderin’) if you’ll stay for the night
So I’m coming (I don’t want to be lonely baby please tell me)
I want to love you all over

Do you believe in love
Do you believe it’s true
Do you believe in love
And you’re making me believe it too

Now the feeling is beginning to grow
And the meaning is something you only know
If you believe it take my hand and I’ll take your heart
Come one
Now I’m wonderin’ (wonderin’) where does true love begin
I’m going under (under) so I’m lettin’ you in
My woman (I don’t want to be lonely baby please tell me)
I want to love you all over

Do you believe in love?
(Do you believe it’s true)
Do you believe that it’s true?
Oh, you’re making me believe it too

I’m so glad it’s changed
(But now I’ve got you and it’s gonna last)
Do you believe in love?

I’m so glad! I’m so glad!
Do you believe in love
Oh you’re making me believe it too
Girl!

Do you believe in love?
Do you believe it’s true?
Do you believe in love?
I believe in love too!

The second single “Workin’ For a Livin’”, a foot-stomper and party song for the working set. Written by Huey Lewis and guitarist Chris Hayes, it peaked at #20 and helped build momentum for their next album. Coincidentally, this week, the song is more relevant than others:

Workin’ for a Livin’

Some days won’t end ever and some days pass on by
I’ll be working here forever, at least until I die
Damned if you do, damned if you don’t
I’m supposed to get a raise week, you know damn well I won’t

Workin’ for a livin’
(Workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’
(Workin’)
Workin’ for a livin’, livin’ and workin’
I’m taking what they’re giving ’cause I’m workin’ for a livin’

There would be two more singles off of Picture This, including a cover of
“Giving It All Up for Love” written by old pal Phil Lynott of Thin Lizzy.

CRITICS:

  • Stephen Thomas Erlewine at AllMusic said: “By incorporating stronger elements of R&B and doo-wop (their cover of “Buzz Buzz Buzz” is first-rate) and embracing pop to a much greater extent, the News find their own distinctive sound — clean-cut, steady middle-class rock & roll.”

After Picture This, the Huey Lewis and the News train left the station. For the next 8–10 years, they would be as ubiquitous on the radio, television, and the movies.

Picture this, the 1980’s without Huey Lewis and the News.

I bet you can’t.

If you like what you read, you can buy me a cup of coffee to support my irrational love of coffee …and help support the writing.

--

--

Keith R. Higgons
etc. Magazine

Writer & Podcaster — Abandoned Albums & The Mix n' Match Podcast www.abandonedalbums.com "The ones that love us least Are the ones we'll die to please."