Etermax Engineers | Alejandra D’Aquino

etermax tech
etermax technology
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2019

--

Etermax is made up of great professionals who face problems and challenging tasks every day. That’s why there is nothing better than knowing the people who make Etermax what it is.

What is your main responsibility in Etermax

I am working as a Technical Owner in the Cosmos squad of the Trivia Crack project

What does an average day at work look like for you?

I arrive at 8 am and usually start checking out all amplitude dashboards to see how our A/B tests are performing and discuss it with my coworkers. Then I take a look at our kanban dashboard to remember what was I working on and resume the task. Later on, we have our daily meeting to synchronize and then go back to coding. Most of the times, we do pair programming. Sometimes this is interrupted by some meetings before I leave the office at 5 pm.

In which projects have you worked/are you working?

I worked for a few months in Aworded Crack when I started working at Etermax. Then I worked in Pictionary for more than a year until I was reassigned to Trivia Crack.

Where did you work previously?

Mostly, I have worked in fintechs. A few years in Lumina Americas, then five years in Puente S.A. and then in 4finance, till I got here.

What made you decide to opt for Etermax?

I found the fact that I would be working with games appealing, since it’s something really different from financial software. I also liked the people in the interviews, they seemed nice at the time and they’ve proved to be so! Also, I love the technical challenge involved in the massive nature of games and the possibility to learn from that.

What is your favorite thing about Etermax?

My favorite thing is to be challenged by technologies and tools that allow me to learn all the time and to be up-to-date with the most recent trends.

What would you say to someone who is considering working for Etermax?

I would say that is a great place to work because of the opportunity to learn and grow as a professional in a friendly environment. Everyone here is very nice and I love working with them.

What do you expect from Etermax in the future?

I expect that we will continue to increase our knowledge as a company and find a way to release new games and features really fast.

What was your most challenging task/project?

  1. The infrastructure for the SVG to PNG conversion in API for Pictionary.
  2. The speed guess game mode in Pictionary
  3. The SVG migration from S3 to Postgres with jsonb that allows to query the content. There were about 140 million records and the response time needed to be low.

What do you do in your free time?

I spend my free time writing and reading in a literary workshop, watching netflix, playing with my cats or doing indoor cycling.

Favorite Technology/Programming Language?

Java/kotlin, Angular js/ React js, Jsonb (Postgres)

What strengths make you a good engineer?

  1. Teamwork and communication skills
  2. Being open to new ideas
  3. Finding effective solutions with simplicity and the lowest amount of code possible
  4. Choosing a tool/framework taking into account the problem it is meant to solve and the problem that we actually have to find the one that is a perfect match.

Why did you choose to be a software engineer?

I find everything related to logic and abstract ideas to be like playing, it doesn’t feel like working. I started programming at my father’s company. Before that, I was studying chemistry and when I knew what was software about, I realized that I had to study that.

--

--