The Pinay Scholar In Devcon

Christina Gallano
Ethereum Scholars Program
3 min readOct 30, 2019

--

I am the Pinay In Devcon and I am so humbled to represent the Philippines in this most prestigious event. I’ve been to multiple local blockchain events in the Philippines and I only get to see these events online. So for me, just any other Filipinos, everyone on this event are just internet faces and youtube personalities. Being able to attend my first ever Devcon event in Osaka, Japan last October 8–11, 2019 gave a full view of what a Devcon is all about and it made it even special because I was there not just as an attendee but as a SCHOLAR.

25 countries were represented during the DevconV event.
Aya Miyaguchi introducing Devcon Scholars to DevconV community. I am 2nd from left.

I had a chance to meet great minds and attend talks about blockchain products including its Roadmap. Hearing all this straight from people whom I only see in internet is very inspiring and heartwarming. I gained a lot of learnings and it gave me an opportunity to represent the Philippines to the international blockchain community. I’ve seen opportunities, I’ve seen love, I’ve seen hope and I felt included.

In the event, I realised that so many blockchain products are being developed and I expect more to come in the coming months. Everyone claims that their products are meant to bring the promise of blockchain in its full potential. But are all these what we really need? Would all these provide decentralisation and bring equal opportunity in life? The love is overwhelming and everybody wants to help everybody. For me, a blockchain product would only be effective and efficient if it is able to solve the real problem on hand. So how do we do that? We need to understand first what the problem from the actual people who are experiencing it. So, just like any other project, the success of the product fully depends on the thoroughness of the user requirements which would only be defined by the actual users, the group who are meant to use the solution. Indeed the great minds in the international blockchain community put all their effort to define the requirements, develop a solution and spent millions of dollars to make that a reality. As a scholar, it’s time for me to get involved, help develop the solution and make sure that the efforts of everyone will never be put to waste. I will use this opportunity to help the international blockchain community to come-up with use-cases that best fits my community, blockJuan (the Filipinos), help shape the requirements and promote the product. I believe that an effective and efficient product plays a great part in on-boarding more and more Filipinos to the blockchain space and eventually for Filipinos to fully trust what blockchain is, it’s promise and the opportunities attached to it.

I will also use this venue to connect with the world through my fellow scholars, learn from them and work with them to bring a global solution for a decentralized world.

Devcon Scholars with “the man”, Robby Greenfield

Each of us has a story to tell and now is the best time to start sharing…

--

--

Christina Gallano
Ethereum Scholars Program

Tina is a Technical Project Manager at ConsenSys and was part of the delivery team of Project i2i. Proud mom of Neyna Gift and happy wife of Rodney.