Reading07 — Cloud Computing

Bradley Sherman
Ethics Blog
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2018

Cloud computing is the ability to quickly acquire computing resources such as hardware, software, and other infrastructure without worrying about the initial capital and overhead of setting it all up and getting it configured. After looking at some of the readings, I think some ethical issues regarding it are whether or not companies should be required to give up someone’s data, and also how hard they should push consumers to use the cloud. I don’t think anyone’s data should be stored in a data center that is not located in their home country, because their data should fall under the governance of the country they live in. I also think that companies should not force people into using the cloud if they don’t want to. For example, in David Pogue’s article, “Why you Shouldn’t Trust your Data to ‘the cloud’”, he mentions a startling fact. Apparently Apple has removed the ability to sync your phone and computer through a cable. You must do it through the internet, specifically with an iCloud account. This is wrong to me as you should be able to completely sync your devices offline, especially if it was already available before.

As a developer, the cloud is a wonderful tool. Some of the advantages include sharing your work with other developers (GitHub), and always having access to my files. For example, I sync my school files with Dropbox so I can easily access them whether I am using Windows or Ubuntu. This is extremely convenient. Some of the disadvantages are the same as those discussed in the articles. All this data is now out on the internet and is one breach away from being distributed to anyone. Depending on what I put up on the cloud, that could be extremely bad.

As far as the consumer’s perspective goes, the Cloud is beneficial as well in a myriad of ways. Any store that has an online platform can keep track of what I like to buy/look at, and even if I buy something in a physical store they can keep a record of everything I’ve bought with them. Then, I can get deals catered to my preferences. Now this, could also be viewed as a disadvantage because some people do not want these big corporations to build a profile about them, but I like it. Another disadvantage, once again, is that all my information stored in this profile, like credit card info and my home address, is one hack away from being exposed to anyone in the digital world. This presents a dilemma for the consumer: take advantage of the convenience while risking data theft or stay off the grid and more secure?

I hinted at it before, but the trade-offs, both as a developer and consumer, essentially come down to convenience and cost vs privacy and security. Using the cloud generally improves efficiency by making certain processes faster and more convenient which lowers the cost of doing something. However, using the cloud also pushes all data to the internet and even though it is encrypted, you can never be too sure that it is 100% safe.

Personally, I don’t fully trust the cloud. We have already seen numerous occasions where people’s data have been hacked, and these stories are not stopping anytime soon. So until that happens, I don’t think anyone should completely trust the cloud. However, I’m still going to take advantage of the cloud simply because it makes my life so much easier. I know there is a risk of losing my data, but that’s a risk I’m willing to take in order to take advantage of the benefits the cloud provides.

--

--