How is Haiku writing in English as a Japanese person

Is English Haiku more difficult than Japanese Haiku?

Mai Yamamoto
Etude of Creativity

--

Image by HG-Fotografie, on Pixabay

After I started writing on Medium, I was surprised that so many people love Haiku poems. Haiku is a Japanese poetry style, composed of 5–7–5 sounds. In English, you count by syllable while we count by letter in Japanese.

I learned some Haiku poems in Japanese when I was at school, but I didn’t compose them myself. As I read lots of Haiku poems in English on Medium now, I wanted to try to write English Haiku poetry.

I read about how to write Haiku in English including the basic knowledge and principal rules. I started writing Haiku poems in English and I found out that it is not too difficult.

I am writing both in English and Japanese on this platform. Sometimes I write poetry in two languages on the same page, as a translation, like this post:

So, I was wondering if I could do the same thing with Haiku, although I found it very difficult.

--

--

Mai Yamamoto
Etude of Creativity

Japanese writer. Poetry, Travel, Cooking, Gardening and Languages.