How I Failed at What Matters Most, And What it Taught Me

“Wait, Is the World on Fire?!” What the…What the Hell Do You Think We Were Trying to Warn You About?

umair haque
Eudaimonia and Co

--

Photo by Jordy Meow on Unsplash

How do you feel these days? Looking around the world, I’d bet you might feel a little bit like me. Exasperated. Here’s the Washington Post, finally, finally asking, for example…is everything on fire?

What…what the hell do you think we’ve been trying to warn you about?

For…how long, has it been…anyways…at this point?

I’m going to tell you a story, about me, and then we’re going to discuss a world, a civilization, on fire.

By the way, if you haven’t joined already, come on over to my new publication, The Issue. There’s tons there to read already, on everything from climate change, to Gaza, to Biden vs Trump, the economy, and much, much more, right down to philosophy and civilization. We’re having many fascinating discussions in the comments, too. I’d be delighted to see you there!

So. This…everything on fire thing. Allow me not to be artificially humble for a second. A few years ago, I had to make a choice. Was I going to…continue being…my Don Draper corporate self? Or was there sort of more to life and intellect and the point of me than that? By that age…

--

--