“So, what do you do?”

When our jobs become who we are..

Ajmal Afif
Eureka & Epiphany
3 min readDec 9, 2015

--

I’ve always struggle to find the answer to that question. By default, most of us answer it by giving away our job descriptions.

“I’m a Web Designer or, Front End Developer”.

That answer annoys the hell out of me. It’s definitely my lazy answer to that question.

Every time I get that question, I can’t help but to start reflecting about places where I find that deep sense of belonging and excitement; airport and library/bookstores. I then ask myself, “Why do I do, what I’ve been doing?”

These places trigger emotions I could never describe every time I’m there. It gives me this new and inspiring vibe. I feel renewed and refreshed when i’m in those places.

I’m one of those nomadic people who love to experience foreign cultures and communities, traveling in search of tales and stories.

I enjoy and love traveling every now and then; last year, I managed to travel on average once per month.

I love that feeling of getting lost in unfamiliar territory. The anxiety kicks in and it heighten my senses and alertness level to a point that it made me capture moments in much better details and clarity. It feels something like I’m in this mode where everything slows down.

I guess tie that to the “librarian” person I feel inside, it made perfect sense that I seem to keep expanding my interests to learn new things. I lead most part of my life in this traveler behavior regardless if it’s my professional career or just simply my knowledge in some domain subject or value-added life skills.

Few years ago I asked few of my closest family members and friends to describe me in three words. Nothing more or less. Some of the most consistent answer was organized. I think could relate to it but I don’t feel the depth of the description. It felt wrong. One of them who has a master in English literature hits it home with this word; methodical.

I can be in organized mess mode in some area, so I know that description isn’t accurate enough but methodical, boy I do believe no matter what I’m doing even the simplest no brainer mindless thing, I do it in some method I feel right doing.

So if I have to fit in into conformist labelling of myself, the closest description I shall relate to who I really am will be:

As I spend a lot of my adult time invested in balancing the act of consuming web crafting and use that skill to bring meaning and value to people I care about;

I’m a web librarian that travel his life methodically and always in the constant loop practicing the art of balancing what interests me and what I care about.

And as to those who know me at some point in my life would notice this; I can be quite philosophically and serious at times, while being a clown as the anti-climax to conclude any sessions I might drive myself into. So with that, it’s a coin toss between these two descriptors;

I’m either a Batman, or an Ironman…

I’m only half-joking you know..

In Dark Knight’s Batman Begins, there’s one quote that sticks with me to this day and easily becomes one of my favorites;

“It’s not who you underneath, it’s what you do that defines you.”

--

--

Ajmal Afif
Eureka & Epiphany

I travel life methodically and always in the constant loop practicing the art of balancing what interests me and what I care about. https://ajmalafif.com