Istrian image

Kevin Gurton
Behind the Iron Gurton
2 min readMay 15, 2018

I visited a few of the towns along the Istria Peninsula, in both Slovenia and Croatia. I enjoyed spending time in them all, but I found them all quite similar. Piran, Poreĉ, Rovinj and Pula — all Roman towns filled with winding streets made of stone polished by millions of footsteps over the centuries. They are all pretty coastal towns with a marina and a small island close to shore, each slightly larger than the last. They all have red tile roofs, small plazas and plenty of restaurants serving fantastic seafood.

Soundchecking in a Roman amphitheatre

Pula, the largest of them all, also has the most impressive Roman remains. I went to the amphitheatre expecting the usual stroll around ancient piles of stones and imagining the ancient performances held there. Instead, I was treated to a choir singing their scales ready for the evening’s show. Although it was only a soundcheck, there’s something magical about hearing live music in a venue, using it for the same purpose as it was built 2,000 years ago.

As I was close to the southernmost tip of the peninsula, I couldn’t resist going to Premantura and the Kamenjak reserve. There are a few popular beaches in the many coves, but the walk (scramble) along the coastline to the final cape was empty. It felt a suitable place to finish my time in Istria before moving inland to the capital.

Related albums

Slovenia

Croatia

--

--