Plzeň, Czechia

Kevin Gurton
Behind the Iron Gurton
1 min readJul 22, 2018

I arrived in Czechia in some pain from my heel. After hobbling around and not making much progress, I decided that I had to go to the hospital. I’m going to have to rest, but I got some crutches that at least allow me to be a bit more mobile. It’s so frustrating not being able to walk around and leaves me in a bit of a dilemma as there’s so much I want to see in this country.

The Pilsner Urquell factory, where pilsner beer was invented

Plzeň was my first stop. It is famous for being the place where pilsner beer was invented back in 1842. Although not my favourite style, a visit to where it all began had to be done. The Pilsner Urquell factory runs tours around its old brewery, plus the modern bottling plant. It was fascinating to see the old style of beer production, fermenting in open wooden barrels and to compare that to the scale of the modern stainless steel operation.

The tour also included a glass of beer direct from one of the old wooden barrels — na zdraví!

--

--