Vlkolínec, Slovakia

Kevin Gurton
Behind the Iron Gurton
1 min readAug 9, 2018

Vlkolínec is a tiny village near to the town of Ružomberok. It has a resident population of 6, although Slovak holiday makers often fill some of the other houses. It is a tourist draw because it is composed of traditional colourful log houses and, for this, it is UNESCO listed.

Vlkolínec houses with Sidorovo hill behind

I found the village very pretty, but it only took about half an hour to walk around. I enjoyed the walk back to Ružomberok much more. The first challenge was to ascend the imposing Sidorovo hill, overlooking the village, for some great views of the surrounding area. The next was to follow the top of the undulating ridge back, descending back into town. It was all through the forest and I barely saw anyone else on the trail.

The only thing I did come across was some bear scat — there are something like 30 bears in the area. I think this is probably the closest I’m going to get to one in the wild though.

--

--