Audio Technica ATH-M20X Review : The most sturdy headphones I’ve ever used

eburksz
tkajudaf
Published in
3 min readFeb 5, 2017

As a dude who makes music from time to time, a couple of years ago I decided to get some closed-ear headphones that gave a “flat” sound, that is, headphones that do not boost frequencies such as the bass or treble. After looking for inexpensive options (I’m an student, bear with me) I came across the Audio Technica ATH-M20X. They looked pretty good for the price, seemed solid and had good reviews, so I eventually got them. After almost 3 years and many drops later, I’m reviewing them.

Let’s get technical

First off, let’s start with the technical specs: The ATH-M20Xs are closed-back-style headphones, which means they don’t let noise escape from the ear cups (which is something that I personally do like). They have a 40mm Driver Diameter, and more importantly, have a 15–20k Hz frequency response, which means you’ll be able to ‘hear’ frequencies ranging from 15Hz to 20,000Hz. This part is important for people who want to make music, because you really want to hear all the frequencies you may have in your mix so you can EQ them properly. They’re made out of a combination of Aluminium, plastic and

Safe and Sound

These headphones have been my “daily drive” for almost 3 years, and that means loud music and a lot of trips. They sound excellent, and if you compare them to other headphones you can notice the ‘flatness’ in the sound. I’ve compared them to brands like Bose or Beats, and honestly nothing has beaten the quality of these headphones, sound-wise. I listen to everything; from house music and Jazz to Extreme music like Technical Death Metal (Edgy genre, I know), and the definition they give is outstanding. It really feels like I paid more than 50$ (at the time) for them.

The top of the headphones feature an “Audio-technica” Logo.

Defining the sound of these headphones is hard: It’s really like if you were listening to the source of something. It doesn’t have boosted lows, nor the highs are exagerated. There’s a balance in everything and the difference is noticeably when you have other headphones nearby. Everything just seems more polished, even if your pair of beats go louder.

Construction — Headphones VS Gravity

I have to say that I’m not a person that drops stuff daily. I never drop my phone or my Apple Earbuds accidentally; However, I’ve dropped these pair of Headphones more times that I can really remember, and they have taken them like a champ. The construction of the headphones are surprisingly good; they’re not broken or have the typical ‘rattling’ sound they get, which means a broken part inside. They also don’t have any scratches, other than the earcups and headrest, which have been obviously eroded by sweat, and are fragmented and worn. Pretty okay for 3 year old headphones, I have to say.

Tear and wear on the M20x.

Let’s talk about something very important here: The headphone cord / cable. That thing is STURDY, to the very definition of the word. Since I got them, the cable has been badly treated, to the point where it’s basically entangled all the time, and so far, no issues have risen up. There are no weird quirks on the sound, and it still works properly. This is the thing I like the most about these pair, because I do tend to damage a lot of cables due to fraying, but this doesn’t seem to happen with these. That’s a huge plus!

  • Another image

Should you buy them?

It really depends. These headphones are the entry point of a line-up of “Studio Headphones”, which give a different sound, and with that, a different experience to your normal, consumer-engineered headphones. If you’re someone who likes to experience sound like the artist “engineered it”, then these are for you; however, if you’re someone who likes a boomy bass or a “sharp” sound, then, you’re better off with other brands, such as Bose or Beats.

--

--