What Leadership Is

Evan Powell
Evan Powell
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2017

Hello fellow colleagues and strangers alike to my blog website where I will be coaching the likes of you on how to be a competent leader, something I strive to be every day. Leadership is of the utmost importance to me because the abilities I have been given to be able to communicate and cooperate well with others in order to achieve a favorable outcome. This is the ultimate goal as a leader, to be able to work well with your peers while also pushing them to achieve higher goals you know they can reach.

Leadership can come in all sorts of forms, from the restaurant head chef drenched in sweat from the 600 degree grills or the corporate executive who sips champagne during a business call paying no mind to the common people 80 stories below him. Both of these people hold a similar position in their respective workplaces in that they are the head honcho. If a chef burns a piece of steak and still puts it on the plate for the customer and the head chef gets whiff of it, that chef may hear not be going home with a paycheck that night to say the least. Similarly but on the other perspective if a salesman for the executives company makes a million-dollar sale, the executive may choose to reward this worker with something like vacation days or a pay-raise. The point of this example is to show how whatever the situation, the outcome is decided by the leader of the company in the end, and making the right decision is something that will hopefully come clear to you after reading my blog posts.

This skill relates to my future goals because one day I hope to be some sort of corporate executive of a company. In this position there will undoubtedly be hard decisions to make, but in going to UB I am hoping to find guidance that will help with my future endeavors. Until that time arrives, I will strive to keep studying hard and doing what has to be done to make my future a success.

Until next time folks,

Evan Powell

--

--