How to Turn Exercise into Self-Care

Becca Morgenne
evenself
Published in
4 min readOct 7, 2016

OK, I’m the first to admit that exercise isn’t the first thing I think of when I think of self-care. To me, self-care is that extra something you do for yourself. Exercise has always been something I should do, one of those things I feel guilty because I never make time for. I’m naturally clumsy and uncoordinated, so exercise has always been the chore I avoid. Why would I want to take time out of my already hectic day to make myself sweaty and uncomfortable?

However, I’ve always been jealous of the people who seem to genuinely enjoy working out. Exercise has such amazing benefits, such as being able to sleep better, better complexion, and most important: it’s a healthy way to deal with stress. So, I set out to find if there was a way for me to incorporate exercise into my life that I would actually enjoy and wouldn’t feel like work. As it turns out, there’s tons of great way to do such. Here are some things I learned on my journey.

Push yourself as little or as much as you want

I think one of the biggest turn offs for people when it comes to exercise is the mentality that you need to push yourself as far as you can. It’s the no pain, no gain mentality, and I really hate being in pain. But in truth, exercise is what you make it. It doesn’t matter if you’re lifting 200 pounds or taking a leisurely stroll around the mall. You need to do what feels right for you, and what makes you feel good. Personally, I like taking a walk around the block when I’m upset. It’s not too time consuming and it helps me clear my head. It lets me stretch my limbs and get some fresh air.

Set an easily achieved schedule

Someone once told me that when they were starting to get into working out, they’d tell themselves that they only had to do it for 15 minutes. More often than not, those 15 minutes would pass and they’d find out that they were enjoying themselves and didn’t actually want to stop. So start by trying to work out 15 minutes once or twice a week. Maybe you find out that you want to do more, or maybe that’s what works best for you. The most important bit is that it makes both you and your body happy.

Try new things

So one of my biggest hang-ups when it comes to working out is that I really, really hate cardio. I hate running, I hate aerobics classes, and I cannot stand the elliptical machine. If I’m going to exercise, I’d personally rather focus on strength training than do anything with cardio. But I understand that cardio is important so I set out to find cardio that I didn’t hate automatically. Walking is still my go-to choice, because it doesn’t feel like working out to me.

One other thing I discovered is water aerobics. I don’t take a class, since the combination of my lack of coordination and my anxiety makes most workout classes a nightmare for me. Instead, I occasionally go to a public pool and do water aerobics in the shallow end. What’s nice about water aerobics is that its low impact, I don’t sweat much since I’m surrounded by water, and it doesn’t take much to do some serious work.

The most important part to remember when it comes to working out is to do what feels right to you. No one person needs the same thing, and exercise is meant to make you happy, not upset. There’s a lot of talk about the amount of exercise every person should do, and its intimidating. I know it scared me off from wanting to work out. So throw out that number. It literally doesn’t matter how little you do, because its more than what you were doing before you started.

Don’t listen to what people say you need to do and focus on what makes you happy. No one else lives in your body than you, and you know what your body wants and needs. If your workout regimen is starting to stress you out, then take a break or try and find something new that feels right to you. Think of exercise as your time to take a little self care for your body. Self care is never meant to be stressful or a chore. Find something that makes both you and your body feel happy.

Do you have any workouts you do to lower your stress? Let us know in the comments below!

--

--