Trick or Treat Yo’self

Becca Morgenne
evenself
Published in
4 min readOct 14, 2016

OK, I love fall. I love the leaves changing. I love that I finally can go outside without sweating. Most importantly, I love October. It’s always felt like October has extra magic stored into it, and that anything is possible. Every year, I try and coordinate my plans to make sure I can get in as much of that magic as possible. I count down the days until the local costume shop opens up. I started planning my Halloween party at the beginning of July.

Summer is usually jam-packed with activities and it can be hard to catch your breath. Fall is the perfect chance to take some time to prioritize your self-care. There are lots of fun activities to do now that you’ve traded in your swimsuit for a wool sweater. Here are some ways you can treat yourself this fall.

Go apple or pumpkin picking

There’s something really awesome about being able to going to an apple orchard and hand-picking your own apples. You get to be outside enjoying the crisp autumn air, soaking in loveliness of nature. Fall is a great time to go out and about, before it gets too cold and you’re stuck inside for a few months. On top of that, once you’re done, you get to take home all your spoils. I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty fond of any activity that ends with me getting food.

You can easily just go to a grocery store if you want to pick out a pumpkin, but there’s something satisfying about searching around a pumpkin patch for the perfect one. You get to make an event out of it instead of it just being a trip to the grocery store. Some pumpkin patches will have corn mazes or fun activities, so you can make a day out of pumpkin picking. After a fun day at the pumpkin patch, I like to go home and carve my Jack O’ Lantern. I like to take the seeds from my pumpkin and roast them while I’m carving so I have a nice snack to enjoy when I’m done.

Buy a bag of Halloween candy for yourself

Part of me is terribly sad I’m too old to trick or treat. There was nothing better than dressing up in your rockin’ costume every year, and going door to door with your best pals. Then at the end of the night, you’d check out your loot and proceed to have the best sugar high of the year.

The good news is that now you’re an adult and you can buy your own candy. Sure, pick up a few bags for trick or treaters if you want, but don’t forget to grab a bag for yourself. Enjoy a sweet morsel (or ten) whenever you need a pick me up. I personally am a fan of the Reese’s shaped like little pumpkins.

Buy yourself a Halloween-themed bath bomb

One of my favorite things about fall is that Lush’s line of Halloween-themed bath products come out. They have so many cute options, like the Monsters Ball bath bomb. I personally love the scent of the Lord of Misrule bath bomb so I make sure to stock up when that comes out every year.

There’s tons of other places with cool bath bombs. Bella Muerte Clothing and Accessories make a bunch of spooky bath bombs. One of their best sellers is their Black as Your Soul hex bomb. The pitch black water lets you live out your witchy bath fantasies. They also have a Blood Bath hex bomb, so you can imagine you’re bathing in the blood of your enemies.

Have a Halloween movie night

I love going on Netflix in October and bingeing out on whatever Halloween movies I can find. There’s nothing better than snuggling up with a fluffy blanket and staying in for a night of spooky fun. If you love horror, test your courage with some Paranormal Activity or Nightmare on Elm Street.

If you’re like me and can’t do horror, there’s still plenty of options. Every October I make time to stay in with my favorite Halloween movies growing up. Classics such as Hocus Pocus, Casper, and Nightmare before Christmas are a must. A great way to catch some of these movies is Freeform’s 13 Nights of Halloween. It plays a lot of family-friendly Halloween movies that are sure to get you in the mood without scaring you senseless.

There’s tons of fun ways to treat yo’self around Halloween. During this spooky and magical time of year, make sure you take some time to enjoy fall in whatever way suits you best.

How do you like to treat yourself in fall? Let us know in the comments below!

--

--