A Visual Introduction to Debezium

A story-based introduction to understanding what Debezium is, how it is made of, and how it works in a real-world scenario

Dunith Danushka
Tributary Data

--

Image credits

In this article, I’ll introduce you to Debezium, how it is made of and walk you through a practical example to see it in action. Unlike my other articles, I’ve added a bit of visual flair to make it more engaging.

As a primer to this, I suggest you read my previous article on Change Data Capture(CDC).

Trust me; Billy is not the only one who struggles to synchronize transactional data systems with derived data systems. Many organizations have already taken the traditional ETL approach for that. But ETL tools are not so good at capturing source system changes as they happen and move them to places where further actions can be taken.
Billy heard about the Change Data Capture (CDC) practice sometime back and…

--

--

Dunith Danushka
Tributary Data

Editor of Tributary Data. Technologist, Writer, Senior Developer Advocate at Redpanda. Opinions are my own.