EverestEngineering Welcomes Irene as Director of Operations

Ranganathan Balashanmugam
EverestEngineering
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2021
Irene Mendoza

A bit about me and why I joined Everest

When I started my career, I had no idea which industry I would work in, what kind of company I would work for and the kinda work I would enjoy doing. Like most people, I tried many different things. So my career background is very broad. I have worked in different roles in Operations, Financial Crime Prevention, Merchant Services, Payments, and FinTech.

In all of these combined experiences, there was one thing that was very clear to me. I love creating meaningful experiences and building lasting relationships with those I am lucky to cross paths with. Part of that is also the joy of enabling and empowering people to become the best version of themselves because, in the process of doing that, I am also becoming the best version of myself.

In my quest of figuring out what I wanted to do, I also had to figure out where I wanted to take this and who I wanted to go on this journey with. That’s where Everest comes in.

There are three things that I look for when choosing to work for a company.

  1. The chance to explore new ideas.
  2. The chance to conduct that exploration alongside awesome human beings.
  3. A place where I feel connected, supported and empowered.

My journey with Everest started when I first met the people behind it. There was an immediate sense of belonging. It’s like when you meet a kindred spirit.

They asked me about my goals, what I was looking for and how I wanted to define my contribution. This gave me the opportunity to write the map for my own adventure. The first thing on my checklist was immediately ticked.

Then I was introduced and got a sneak peek of the kind of people that I would be working alongside, and this is what brought it home for me. Number two on my list, ticked!

On the 9th of August, I officially joined Everest!!

All of the things I knew about Everest from the outside quickly became a reality. Everest Engineering is a people-first organisation. It truly is.

Everyone here has the same belief that when you love the environment you work in, love what you do and the people you work with, it’s a win-win for everyone so we all work together to make sure Everest continues to be that place we can all call home. Number 3 on my list, a big tick!

I joined Everest as their Director of Business Operations and although my journey here just began, I truly believe that I have found my tribe and I am excited about the future ahead of us!

--

--