EverestEngineering Welcomes Pilar Esteban as Director of Design

Ranganathan Balashanmugam
EverestEngineering
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2021
Pilar Esteban

A bit about me and why I joined Everest

I’m passionate about solving problems, designing great experiences, making technology more human and inventing the future. I also love a good chat, zombie movies, Doritos, beer and watermelon.

When I moved to Sydney from my hometown Madrid (Spain) six years ago, I couldn’t speak a word of English. Instead of doing the sensible thing and get some English classes, I managed to get a job as a designer. That was just how the story started, If you want to hear how it went or have time to have a laugh with my anecdotes, well… I have plenty ;)

In my last adventure prior to Everest, I have helped build startups in Australia, Indonesia, Singapore, Hong Kong and Malaysia. Before that, I worked in house and agency, across Europe and Australia, from tiny startups to companies like Domain, eBay or the fashion giant Inditex.

I’ve been a designer for almost 20 years and I believe the main ingredients of success are amazing humans, collaboration, wonderful teams and having fun doing what you love.

Everest looked like the perfect place for me, as simple as that. Why? Easy: Has the 3 ingredients that make it irresistible.

  1. First, a wonderful culture with wonderful people at the core.
  2. Then, a crazy good engineering team, and hence the capability of building amazing stuff.
  3. And last, but absolutely not least, an incredibly talented design team that truly inspired my first glance and has kept amazing me at every step since I first met them.

--

--