Razer DeathAdder V2 X HyperSpeed Long-Term Review — Simply Great

Razer’s wireless, RGB-less DeathAdder mouse delivers top performance at an incredible value

Rui Le Gan
Evergreen Reviews
6 min readJun 25, 2022

--

The Razer DeathAdder V2 X HyperSpeed

I have been using the Razer DeathAdder V2 X HyperSpeed for four months now and finally felt that it was time to write about my experiences with it. I have used it together with the Razer Gigantus V2 mouse mat, and have used it as my daily-use mouse. Previous mice that I have used extensively include the Logitech G502 Hero, Kensington Orbit Trackball with Scroll Ring, Microsoft Bluetooth Ergonomic Mouse, Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600, and Microsoft Arc Touch Mouse (back from 2012). In this post I would compare the Razer with some of these mice. Feel free to ask me questions in the comments and I’ll try my best to answer them.

Overview of the Mice I had owned

Design

I have always found the unique, shape of the Razer DeathAdder series strange. If there was one word to describe its many curves and constrasting simplicity, it would be “organic”. Compared to my previous gaming mice, the Logitech G502 Hero, with its many edges, buttons (additional free-scroll mode and sniper buttons), engraved patterns, RGB lights and customisable weights, the differences are stark.

Logitech G502 Hero with its Customisable Weights (source: Logitech)
Razer’s Design is much simpler in comparison — no RGB to see here.

I have large hands, and personally found the DeathAdder to be the most ergonomic mouse I have used. The slight grooves on the mouse buttons, concave on the right and left side of the mice guides my fingers and thumbs to lightly and comfortably lie on the mouse and move it when needed. The ergonomics are definitely engineered for a “fingertip grip “— my palms do not rest on the back of the mouse. That was unexpected for me, as I thought such a large mouse would be a “palm grip” one. Thankfully, the “finger tip” grip was extremely comfortable and natural, which is something I value highly. I wish Razer makes a left-handed version of this mice though, so left-handers can also enjoy using it.

Connectivity and Power

This Razer is only wireless — there is no option to use it through a cable. the “HyperSpeed” in the name of the mouse refers to its wireless capabilities. Batteries are replaceable with either an AA battery or an AAA one. An AA battery would provide a much longer battery life at the expense of weight. Personally, I use a rechargeable triple-A battery to enjoy the benefits of a lightweight mice without having to buy new batteries when the old one runs out.

The Razer with the top cover removed — there is a slot to store the USB receiver if needed

Incredibly, this mouse can be connected through Bluetooth or a USB receiver. This can be toggled on the bottom of the mouse. The USB receiver is intended for gaming as there is no perceptible latency and my movements feel like it is translated 1:1 to the pointer. On the other hand, the Bluetooth mode is intended for much longer battery life or when a computer does not have a USB A port. Personally, I always use the USB receiver mode , even when not gaming, and the Bluetooth mode on this mouse (and other Bluetooth mice) now feels less accurate and instant. I guess it spoilt Bluetooth modes for me.

Battery life is average on the USB receiver (1 to 2 weeks) on the triple A battery with my heavy usage and I believe that it is much better with Bluetooth and AA batteries. The impressive performance of the USB receiver comes at a cost. The Microsoft Bluetooth Ergonomic Mouse, Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600 and Microsoft Arc Touch Mouse all have way better battery lives.

Performance

Performance is excellent on this mouse. Like the ergonomics, it is the best I have ever experienced. Aside from general usage, I played many games with it such as Halo Infinite, Halo Master Chief Collection, Splitgate, Valorant, Destiny 2 and No Man’s Sky.

Without I doubt, I noticed a noticeable improvement in my scores in the first person shooter games. All the strengths of this mouse can be felt and shows that this mouse was made for gaming.

A great mouse on a great mousepad

Firstly, the wireless nature of it makes mice movements free as there is no wire that could influence or restrain movements when it is dragged or extended. Secondly, the lightweight nature of this mouse (around 83g with AAA batteries) makes movements more nimble. This combined with the ergonomic shape makes controlling the mouse very natural. Thirdly, this mouse comes with pure PTFE feet which allows it to glide very smoothly across my mouse pad. It is also very easy to flick the mouse. Finally, the great and reliable Razer 5G Optical sensor, ultra low-latency wireless connection and, and very responsive second-generation mechanical mouse switches makes for an amazing gaming experience.

With this, I now have only myself to blame when I lose a match.

Buttons and Scroll Wheel

Side view of the Razer

There are 6 buttons on this mouse and they are all great. The two thumb buttons are large and firm, making it difficult to click accidentally, but easy to locate and click when needed. The two buttons for adjusting sensitivity are difficult to reach and do not get in the way of gaming. However, this also means that they are not great for use while in the midst of gaming. Finally, the left and right buttons are using Razer’s second generation mechanical switches and feel like a great balance of lightness and firmness. Overall, I found these buttons to be great.

The scroll wheel is wide and have a rubbery texture and is very grippy. The scrolling mechanism is also notched, making easy to locate and very reliable in gaming. The mouse wheel also allows for a nice middle click. The scrolling is quieter and has a nicer feedback than the Logitech G502 Hero. However, it does not have the free scroll which is one of the G502’s signature features, so it is not as good of an experience as the G502 when scrolling through long documents. I prefer Razer’s scroll wheel because of the nicer material, scrolling feel and sound, but I know friends who love the free scroll feature of the Logitech.

Closing Thoughts

The “X” in the Razer DeathAdder V2 X HyperSpeed means that you won’t get the built in battery, RGB, optical switches, and rubber sides of the much more expensive Razer DeathAdder V2 Pro. But what you get in turn is a mouse that still has no compromises, with a much better value. It’s the value that makes me happy to accept the slightly reduced feature set. What’s there not to like?

Thank you for reading and have a great day

The only flaws in my opinion is the lack of a left-handed option and the average battery life. If you are looking for a great, comfortable mice for daily use and gaming, I can’t recommend the Razer DeathAdder V2 X HyperSpeed enough.

--

--