Dominique Sylva, English Teacher Extraordinaire

Jason Carter
EvergreentoSenegal
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2019

Dekkandoo bu baax a gen mbokk mu sore.~Wolof Proverb***

I am at a loss of where to begin in describing Dominique Sylva, the incredible English teacher who hosted me in Saint-Louis, Senegal. His teranga, his hospitality, his kindness, and his passion mad this journey a learning experience like no other. Not only did he open up his home and his schools to me, but he provided me with such candid insights into Senegal. I am unsure of how I will ever repay him.

Dominique, center, between Eric and Me

Dominique might just be the hardest working teacher I have ever met. In my time in Senegal, I soon learned that English teachers have a reputation for being some of the most innovative teachers in the country. They create classrooms that are conversational, interactive, and fun rather than relying on lecture and note-taking. They often devote time outside of work hours for professional development and networking with other inspiring teachers to learn and to grow.

But what really makes Dominique so hard working is the fact that he teaches not at one, two, or three schools each week. He manages to juggle the schedule of 4 different schools and is often working from 9am-9pm for 6 days a week! He teachers multiple English classes in a high school, a community college, a high school, and an online university. He navigates this schedule and what I would estimate to be over 500 students with such grace and finesse. He can adapt his instruction for the different audiences with ease, and he seems to always make time for any student he runs into. And he does all of this while raising a family with two wives and 8 children, 7 of them under the age of 12!

Besides touring us around schools, Dominique also helped us experience the complexity and vitality of Saint-Louis, an old city with layers of culture and history. From an incredible concert by renown artist Cheikh Lo, a tour of a beautiful bird sanctuary, local musicians and dancers, and meals with his family and tours of the city, I felt truly immersed in what Saint-Louis had to offer. I could not have asked for a better host!

In fact, Dominique’s ability to make time for anyone he encounters is a fundamental shift from how we view time in the States. In Senegal people will stop whatever they are doing to greet one another and have a deep and personal conversation about how life is going. Rarely do they feel beholden to rush anywhere, valuing time spent with others over any schedule. While frustrating at times, I found myself admiring Dominique’s talent for making every person he encountered feel special, heard, and cared for. I learned many things from Dominique on this journey, but making time rather than keeping time will be the one that sticks with me for the rest of my life!

Dominique always making time for others

***A good neighbor is better than a relative who is far away. ~Wolof Proverb

--

--

Jason Carter
EvergreentoSenegal

MIddle school science teacher at Evergreen Community Charter School in Asheville, NC. Email: jason.carter@evergreenccs.org Twitter: @evergreenjasonc