Thriving in Triple Roles: How I Navigate Time as a Mom, Data Analyst, and Student

Elsa Puspa Silfia
evermos-tech
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2024
Designed by pch.vector / Freepik

Can you imagine acting as a mother, a professional data analyst, and a student all at once? It’s a tricky balancing act that requires determination, flexibility, and willpower. In this article, I want to share my personal journey of how to thrive while juggling these three roles.

Living in Germany and working remotely for an Indonesia-based tech startup, Evermos, has been my daily life since 2022. The 6-hour time difference doesn’t really matter, as the timing remains reasonable. But everything changed in September 2023 with the arrival of my cute, blessed, and adorable son. My world transformed dramatically but in a good way.

Feeding, changing diapers, playing, bathing, and cuddling with my baby are now my new daily routines. Living abroad, far from my hometown and without relatives, makes it even more challenging.

Some days, I feel like I’ve managed all things efficiently, while on others, it’s a struggle to keep everything in balance. Of course, this is just my personal experience, everyone’s journey is different. Nonetheless, here are some tips that have helped me manage my time effectively:

  1. Break down your task in as much detail as you can.
    This tip is a combination of time management and prioritization. Splitting larger tasks into smaller, more manageable sub-tasks creates a roadmap for progress. This process allows us to identify the most critical components of a task, prioritize them accordingly, and allocate time and resources efficiently. Whether analyzing data, studying for exams, or managing household responsibilities, a detailed breakdown empowers us to tackle each aspect systematically and effectively. We can allocate all the detailed tasks at a particular time.
    For example, for one analysis task, divide the step into: (i) creating research questions, (ii) analyzing data, (iii) confirming logic to stakeholders, and (iv) setting a quick sync. We don’t have to finish one task in one day if it’s too complex. But make sure to allocate at least 1 hour per day to focus on that task, making progress even if it is a tiny step. To realize that, I usually block the calendar for exact times and corresponding tasks to prevent distraction.
  2. Don’t start doing something before you get the required details.
    Preparation is a key”. Before diving into any task, ensure we have all the necessary details and requirements. It’s essential to clearly understand the objectives, scope, and requirements. This not only streamlines the process but also minimizes the chances of errors.
  3. Support System.
    I couldn’t have managed so many things without a strong support system. My partner and friends were often understanding and offered to help, whether babysitting or motivating during exam periods. Clearly communicating my needs helped them understand how best to support me.
    A good relationship with stakeholders also makes our career life easier. One way to get to know them better is by scheduling regular one-on-one sessions, ideally at least once a month. Whether discussing project retrospectives or simply engaging in casual conversation, these meetings strengthen bonds and lead to a collaborative and supportive work environment.
  4. Communicate with your supervisor if you need flexible time.
    My daily schedule became more chaotic when my son came into my life. Putting him to bed can vary greatly. While some flowed smoothly, others gave me difficult challenges. Effective communication with my supervisor has been essential in navigating the demands of motherhood and work. By being transparent about my need for flexibility, I’ve been able to create a harmonious balance between my professional obligations and personal life.
Bukber Evermos Data Team — Chapter Bandung, Apr 2024

While this story may be unique to me, it can serve as valuable tips for anyone seeking to balance their career and family life. With a good plan and communication, navigating time as a mom, data analyst, and student becomes viable.

--

--

Elsa Puspa Silfia
evermos-tech

I am a Data Analyst and currently a Master Student in Mathematics in Science and Engineering TU Munich.