Global Birth Club: Meet Eka

Every Mother Counts
Every Mother Counts
2 min readApr 23, 2013

Our global birth club is growing and we’re delighted to be welcoming new members.

Our global birth club is growing and we’re delighted to be welcoming new members. It’s starting to feel like a legit mothers’ group now that Eka, our newest member from Indonesia (who came to us through our friend Robin Lim’s clinic, Bumi Sehat, in Bali) brings our numbers to six. Here’s Eka’s story:

My name is Eka. I am 34 and my estimated due date is July 7. I’m a housewife and before I got pregnant I worked in construction in Gianyar (meaning she carried bricks and cement on her head).

Was this a planned pregnancy? Do you plan to have more children? If you have other children: Where did you deliver your other child(ren)? Did you experience complications? Would you recommend that experience to a friend or family member?

This is my third pregnancy but I didn’t realize I was pregnant until the nausea in my second month of pregnancy. I visited a doctor to have a pregnancy test, and when it was positive I was shocked. I already have two children and more children means extra financial difficulty. Now, I’m seven months pregnant and I’ve stopped working, because I started having belly pains and wanted to protect my baby.

My doctor gave me prenatal vitamins, but they made my morning sickness worse. My husband threw them out and a friend recommended I go to Bumi Sehat clinic in Ubud for new vitamins. Since I made that change, my morning sickness is gone and I’m gaining more weight. I make sure to eat three times a day and I really enjoy rujak [an Indonesian fruit salad, with palm sugar, tamarind, and chili] because it helps with nausea.

Click here to read stories from all of our Global Birth Club Members.

--

--