Post Partum — It’s Not A Disease

Every Mother Counts
Every Mother Counts
3 min readSep 5, 2014

Rebeecca Egbert, former midwife and Maternal Health Coach, sets a new gold standard for postpartum health.


By: Rebecca Egbert, former midwife and Maternal Health Coach

I remember the first time I heard the term “postpartum” used nonchalantly on a run. I stopped my friend and said, “Wait, I’m confused. Are you talking about the postpartum period or postpartum depression? Because, they are TWO totally different things.” My friend replied, “Depression.” I found myself saying, “Whoa! Back up. You have to think about how you’re using this term, culturally and socially.” It was at that very moment that I started thinking about how I was going to change the course of my career as a Midwife, and begin a cultural shift in how we view and use the term “postpartum” in our conversations with other moms, girlfriends, husbands, wives and our children when they become parents.

Fast-forward a year. I’m on the phone with my friend and she asks, “Why are women calling postpartum depression “Postpartum” when it’s not a disease?” “Why” is a great question. Yes, Postpartum Depression (PPD) is a serious condition that needs professional attention, care and often medication to get a woman back to her true state of health. Unfortunately, providers and families in the U.S. often miss the diagnosis due to lack of support and education to women after they leave care at six weeks postpartum. I propose that as providers we’re missing much more than the diagnosis of PPD beyond six weeks postpartum. We’re also missing the opportunity to encourage growth and improvement of maternal health by not providing women with the care they crave as they enter Motherhood.

The current model of maternity care in the US is a “disease”model. This reflects onto our culture as moms, both in the way we talk and act. I decided the work I wanted to do with moms would be born as a “health”model. Below are a few examples of health issues I currently address for mothers between six weeks and five years postpartum:

Physical: Hormonal changes, nursing, recovery from birth, adapting diet to prevent colic and stress in her own life, exercise postpartum and how to prevent pelvic floor and bladder damage, and the list grows.

Emotional: Postpartum depression screening, relationship with spouse, relationship to children, stress levels, career health/stress, and time management.

Intellectual: Career and leadership, research on current trends for improvement of health for moms and working moms, creativity, and activating passions you had prior to motherhood that you can’t seem to find time to do now.

Spiritual: A question I often ask is, “How’s your heart?”When a woman doesn’t know how to answer, I know the connection to her soul and heart health needs some work. We address this through meditation, connection with her spouse/girlfriends, getting time alone in nature, aka what I call “soul food.” What feeds your soul?

I propose we set a new gold standard for postpartum health, as providers, as a healthcare system and as a culture. We have the opportunity, right now, to begin making changes and improvements in Maternity Care based on what women want, not what the system wants. The postpartum period is a time in a woman’s life where she can create a “health”system and live vibrantly. It’s also a time when she can pass her knowledge and strength onto her children, spouse, career and community. Let’s help her get there.

Rebecca Egbert is the Founder of The Mother Love, former Midwife, Postpartum Expert, and ultra-marathoner who works to address a gap in postpartum care providing support and education to moms who are 6 weeks to 5 years postpartum. You can find her at www.rebeccaegbert.com or on Instagram @rebeccaegbert and #themotherlove.

--

--