Why Clancy Runs

Every Mother Counts
Every Mother Counts
3 min readOct 30, 2012

These days she’s exercising many of her talents as Manager of Special Projects, which means, she has her finger on the pulse of everything that’s happening with every member of our team.

Clancy McCarty has worn more hats at Every Mother Counts than almost anyone other than Christy. She started working with Christy fresh out of NYU’s Gallatin school, Christy’s alma mater, as a production assistant on No Woman, No Cry and graduated to Co-producer of the documentary by the time they wrapped the film. These days she’s exercising many of her talents as Manager of Special Projects, which means, she has her finger on the pulse of everything that’s happening with every member of our team. That’s why we’re thrilled she’ll be running with Team-EMC for her first marathon this year.

Why do you run?

I’m actually one of the only people from our work force that didn’t run last year’s marathon. It’s not something I ever imagined doing, but when I saw how amazing it was for everybody else to achieve this huge accomplishment, both on a physical basis and as a way to raise awareness, I couldn’t just sit around and not run it this year. I have to at least try. I never thought in a million years I’d be doing this. It was never on my radar. I hated running and never thought it would be something I’d be good at, but now, it’s become something I love doing. Raising awareness gave me a reason to put myself out there and try and so far I’ve done pretty well.

Why are you running for Every Mother Counts?

I’m running for EMC because I love my mom and grandmas (I have several). My mom endured some pretty tough times during her two pregnancies and in a lot of ways I’m running out of respect for my parents and how incredible they are by overcoming some pretty insane hardships trying to have children.

I’m also running because of the connection between running marathon distances and transportation, which is one of the biggest barriers women face in accessing quality healthcare during pregnancy and childbirth. That’s why EMC is running marathons. It’s a great way to engage new audiences because even if people can’t volunteer hands on, running, fundraising or supporting a runner is a way people can get involved in improving maternal health.

How do you keep your mind busy while you’re running?

I listen to music. I have to. I’ve tried without it, but it was kind of brutal. I get too inside my head if I’m not listening to music as background noise. Also, if I feel like giving up and a good song comes on, it gives me energy. I love to go out at night and dance so the music puts me in that same mindset. Running also helps me go through all my thoughts, get things organized and clear my mind. But I need music to help me do that otherwise I get antsy or bored. What I love about the long distances during training though is that somewhere around mile 11 or 12, you hit a whole other realm in your mind, kind of like a natural high. At the point where you’re really pushing yourself, you slip into an altered state. I’ve never been able to get into the mindset of meditation, but it’s like what my friends who do meditate tell me.

What’s on your playlist?

I have a lot of Beyonce, LCD Soundsystem, Janet Jackson, and Hot Chip. LCD Soundsystem’s song, “45:33” with Nike was essential at the start of my training, but now I’ve just played it way too much.

If we use the word “run” for going the distance or striving, what do you wish women would run for?

I wish they’d run to prove themselves and their capabilities. It shows that anything is possible. I never thought I could do it, but now, even though I haven’t run the marathon yet, I’ve definitely run far past what I ever thought I could do.

Training has been a great way to get myself busy on achieving a major goal. I haven’t had a social life for about two months and I have no idea what’s going on with any of my friends, but being part of a team has been great.

To learn more about the connection between transportation and maternal health, check out or new film, “The Walk.” To support Clancy and Every Mother Counts, log on to her CrowdRisepage.

--

--