Why Dallas Runs

Every Mother Counts
Every Mother Counts
4 min readNov 2, 2012

Distance running has helped me learn how to face challenges head-on, break them into smaller parts, work really hard, pace myself, concentrate on achievable goals…and eventually experience the euphoria of accomplishing something that had once seemed unfathomable. It’s an amazing feeling.

We’ve depended on film producer Dallas Brennan Rexer’s dedication and vision as our friend since long before she filmed No Woman No Cry. Dallas and Christy go way back so when it was time for Christy to put her inspiration to reduce maternal mortality into play, she knew Dallas’ talent and partnership were essential. This weekend they’re teammates running the New York marathon together for Every Mother Counts — just another example of how Dallas always goes the extra mile.

Why do you run?

I run because it makes me feel empowered and optimistic about what people are capable of. Life presents us with all kinds of obstacles. It’s how we deal with them that makes a difference. Distance running has helped me learn how to face challenges head-on, break them into smaller parts, work really hard, pace myself, concentrate on achievable goals…and eventually experience the euphoria of accomplishing something that had once seemed unfathomable. It’s an amazing feeling.

The life lessons I’ve learned from running have helped me deal with all kinds of challenges — from tackling huge global crises such as maternal mortality and the denial of power to poor women, to now coping with Hurricane Sandy’s aftermath and finding ways to contribute to the rebuilding effort. And on a more everyday level, the marathon training mindset helps me face a daunting “to do” list with a smile on my face. Crossing the finish line 26.2 miles from where I started allows me to demonstrate to my children how we all can do anything we put our minds (and hearts, souls, bodies) to. I run because it gives me faith that anything is achievable if we just try hard enough. A popping sound in my knee, blackened toenails and sweat soaked clothes are a small price to pay for that powerful feeling.

Why do you run for Every Mother Counts?

I run for EMC because I really understand that connection between childbirth and running and pushing your body to do something you never believed you could do. To take yourself to the brink of exhaustion and feel the joy that comes after that. But also having been there for the filming of No Woman No Cry, it’s very clear that the physical experience women go through everywhere is unique, especially compared to the experiences my peers and I had going through labor. Obviously we captured that with the story of Janet in the film. It’s hard for many people to fathom having to walk five miles when you’re in labor, you haven’t eaten in days and your family looks at you with this feeling of frustration. I feel like very little in our lifestyles helps us understand that experience and it’s a real symbolic gesture to say we run for those who have to walk, when really, we can’t imagine doing that.

How do you keep your mind busy?

It’s fun to do the group runs because we can chat. I find myself talking incessantly and probably driving everybody crazy. When I run by myself, I listen to podcasts. I used to listen to music, but I got tired of my music collection. I listen to This American Life, American Shorts and TED talks so my mind is actually more engaged when I’m running than at a lot of other times. TED talks are really fascinating. I love them. I always want to pull out a notebook after I run to write down all the big ideas that came to me while running.

You don’t run with music?

I have sort of this emergency playlist in case my energy is totally dragging and I need motivation, but I generally save that for the last two miles of a really long run when I’m tired. It’s a funny mix of different things. Stevie Wonder’s Superstition will usually get me through at mile 22. I don’t think I listen to that at any other time, but it does the trick for me. It’s my candy.

If we use the word run for going the distance or striving, what do you wish women would run for?

I wish they’d run for themselves. I think it’s really empowering. All of these issues we’re talking about really start with women feeling empowered, strong and at the top of their game with all these resources out in front of them. It’s about knowing how to make something happen for themselves when it’s not delivered to them. Not everybody has the time, resources or knee-ankle alignment that allows them to run, but metaphorically, every body can work at a challenge, overtake it and feel victorious. That’s a great experience for people to go through, especially for women who dole out a lot more than they get in a lot of places.

To learn more about why Dallas is running for Every Mother Counts, check out our new film,The Walk. To support Dallas and Team-EMC, donate to her Crowdrise page here.

--

--