The Best Friend You Didn’t Know You Had

Jon Youshaei
Every Vowel
Published in
1 min readJul 22, 2016

Your dad is a best friend you didn’t know you had. At least, I didn’t. As a first-generation American, my dad embarrassed me. I asked him to drop me off several blocks from school so friends wouldn’t see his hideous Ford pickup truck. But as I grew up, I realized it was that same truck that helped start his business. That helped put food on my plate. It wasn’t until I got my first job that I appreciated what my dad did. The sacrifices he made for a son who was sometimes ungrateful.

Check out EveryVowel.com for new cartoons every week. If you enjoyed this one, it would mean a lot if you could hit the green heart below : )

--

--

Jon Youshaei
Every Vowel

Cartoonist & writer behind www.EveryVowel.com. Featured in Forbes, Time & Buzzfeed.