Autocomplete Search Component with Phoenix LiveView and AlpineJS

Velina Petrova
Mindvalley Technology
9 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

Photo by Daniel Cheung on Unsplash

These days, the most commonly spoken “buzzwords” in the Elixir community are — Phoenix LiveView, TailwindCSS, and AlpineJS.

And true enough, if you do a little bit of google searching, you will find plenty of blog posts, podcasts, and video tutorials that do a comprehensive overview of those technologies.

At Mindvalley, I have been working with Phoenix LiveView and TailwindCSS for about a year now. Both technologies have drastically improved my productivity as a web developer, allowing me to focus on coding the business logic rather than figuring out the overly technical nitty-gritty implementation details.

Last week, I finally got the chance to try out AlpineJS for the first time. And I was very pleasantly surprised by how easy it was for me to install and start using it as a part of one of the Phoenix LiveView projects under my care.

In today’s blog post, I want to show you how to combine Phoenix LiveView with AlpineJS to create simple and elegant solutions to otherwise complex problems.

As a concrete example, I will walk you through the process of implementing a dynamic, autocomplete search component with the technologies mentioned above.

--

--

Velina Petrova
Mindvalley Technology

Engineering Manager by Day | Financial Freedom Explorer by Night | Joy Seeker Always | https://velina-petrova.medium.com/membership