Yup, It’s True, Space Smells Like Steak

But, unfortunately, the moon doesn’t smell like cheese

Rosie Alderson, PhD
Everyday Science

--

Photo by Chad Montano on Unsplash

I’m a huge space nerd.

But, I’m not an astronomer, or even a physicist, only a ‘lowly’ biochemist that knows more about protein molecules than is healthy.

When I wrench myself away from those proteins, I think about space. When we get a clear night, my short-sighted eyes squint through their lenses, always in awe of the dots of glowing fire in the night’s sky.

You might think that I would like to go to space one day, given the chance.

Absolutely not, are you crazy? If you haven’t noticed, space is really far away. I get antsy on a long-haul flight.

It’s fine, I’ve made peace with my dream of being Earth-bound: a theoretical astronaut. I’ll just look at the pretty pictures, thank you very much.

Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

There are a few shortcomings to being a theoretical astronaut. I mean, for one, I’ll never get to do weightless cartwheels, or feel the thrill (sheer terror) of doing an ‘extravehicular activity’ (or spacewalk, for the uninitiated). My mum seemed quite relieved that I wouldn’t be…

--

--

Rosie Alderson, PhD
Everyday Science

(Hungry) Science Nerd: educator, writer and general foodie.