Does Consumerism begin at school?

Mydhili
Everyday Thoughts
Published in
1 min readSep 9, 2015

I really don’t remember much of my childhood. I only have some hazy and some very clear visions of my time as a ‘kid.’

I remember this one time when my parents helped me with a school project. We cut up a few vegetables in half, prepped our watercolors and started filling up a blank canvas. I loved doing that. Mostly because it helped me appreciate the shapes inside a vegetable. I think that is when I really decided the lady finger was my favorite vegetable :)

I remember a few other instances when I was creating something from scratch as part of a school project. I either don’t remember or remember bitterly, the times I only consumed “knowledge” and spilt it all in an exam.

Consuming vs. Creating , I think it has its roots in school. When I am creating something from nothing now, I have the same feeling of joy that I had when I made that painting. The painting also won the first prize by the way.

--

--

Mydhili
Everyday Thoughts

EdTech gal. Chases dreams. Currently building @Young_Current