Get to Know Your Library: The Complete Checklist

What can your local public library do? The answers may surprise even the most frequent library user!

EveryLibrary
EveryLibrary
7 min readMay 20, 2022

--

Photo by Robert Kneschke on Shutterstock

Libraries provide a lot of services outside of book borrowing! Librarians love to assist the average bibliophile, but they’re also available to help anyone who needs a quiet workspace, public computers, lifelong learning opportunities, or more! When it comes to services provided by public libraries, the possibilities are endless.

Ask your local librarians these questions on your next visit. These conversation starters will help you get the most out of your local library and everything it offers.

Photo by fizkes on Shutterstock

Get Oriented

You walk through your local public library. A librarian is sitting at a desk near the entrance. There are a few other visitors engaged in activities around the library. As a first-time visitor, you have many questions for the librarian. You might ask them…

  • Is there signage that I can use to find my way around?
  • Can I sign up to have a tour of the library?
  • Do you have bilingual staff members?
  • What unique COVID-19 resources and services do you have in place currently?
  • What kinds of technology can I access (computer labs, laptops or hotspots for check out, Circuit machines, printers, iPads, tablets, or gaming devices)?
  • Do you have a calendar of the programs, storytimes, and classes you offer? Can I access that information online or through your social media channels? How can I stay up to date on the events that are happening?
  • Is there someone on staff who can help me (start a garden, grow my business, find a new job, research my family)?
  • Are there quiet spaces where I can work?
  • Can I work remotely from this library?
Photo by Sora Shimazaki on Pexels
  • Where would I go to explore materials and speak to a staff member about a specific interest?
  • Do you have study rooms or spaces for meetings?
  • Can I book your meeting room for an event?
  • Who on staff has a specialty in researching… (healthy cooking, local information, how to replace a car part, legal advice, local business trends, my next vacation, my hobby, a historical event)?
  • Do you have unique services that I can use and tell my friends about (bicycles for check out, social workers available, ESL classes, tutoring, book deliveries for homebound community members, large print books)?
  • Does this library have a makerspace or other unique spaces?
  • Do you have items other than books for check out (musical instruments, tools, cooking supplies)?
  • Are there places around the library grounds that I should visit (gardens, story walks, walking trails)?
  • Can I volunteer or get involved here?
  • I need community information. Can someone on staff help me (put a work order into the city, connect with a department, find an ordinance, sign my child up for kindergarten, make a payment, contest a parking ticket)?
  • Do you have resources and programs to help me stay healthy (pop-up health screenings, yoga classes, workout equipment, gardening classes, a farmer’s market)?
  • Do you have a website, mailing list, or social media account?
Photo by Robert Kneschke on Shutterstock

Explore the Shelves

You begin to explore the endless stacks of books. A librarian is sitting at a desk near the bookshelves. You’re looking for a particular service that requires professional expertise. You might ask them…

  • Do you have flyers about the programs, storytimes, and classes you offer?
  • Do you have books in different languages?
  • Do you have special collections of books or archives unique to this library?
  • I like this, this, and this. What books do you recommend?
  • How do I browse for books?
  • Do you have lists of book recommendations or book displays based on my interests?
  • Do you have any digital streaming services that I can access using my library card?
  • Can my library card give me access to Mango Languages or Ancestry services? Where can I access your digital services?
  • Do you have a digital library, and can you help me access it on my devices?
  • Here’s a question I have. Can you research the answer for me?
  • I’m looking for a book that isn’t available at this library. Can I suggest a title for purchase?
  • Does your library offer interlibrary loan (ILL) services?
  • Do you have this book title in Braille and large print?
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Navigator on Pexels

Attend an Event

You attend an event or class. As a lifelong learner, you appreciate experiencing something new. After the event, you say hello to the librarian who ran the event. You might ask them…

  • Do you have flyers for the programs, storytimes, and classes you offer? Can I access that information online or through your social media channels? How can I stay up to date on the events that are happening?
  • Can I book this meeting room for an event or meeting?
  • This event increased my interest in this topic. Who on staff can help me research (local history, healthy cooking, local information, how to replace a car part, legal advice, local business trends, learning a language)?
  • Would you like to come and share this event with my club or community organization?
  • I have an interest in something specific. Do you ever have events about that?
  • I have a particular skill. Would you be interested in me doing an event for the library to teach that skill to others?
Photo by Robert Kneschke on Shutterstock

Take Your Family

You and your family visit the Children’s Department. You have a specific interest, concern, or question about the children’s services provided by your library. A librarian is sitting at a desk near the bookshelves. You might ask them…

  • What services do you have for my child’s age group?
  • What resources do you have for homework assistance and homeschooling families?
  • Do you have flyers for the programs, storytimes, and classes you offer? Can I access that information online or through your social media channels? How can I stay up to date on the events that are happening?
  • Are there quiet rooms for homeschooling and homework sessions?
  • Do you have changing stations in every bathroom?
  • My child likes this, this, and this. What books do you recommend?
  • Can you help my child find a book that they might enjoy?
  • How do I browse for books?
  • Is there an area where I can breastfeed?
  • Can you give my child a tour of how to use the children’s area?
  • Do you have lists of book recommendations or book displays?
  • Do you have a digital library of children’s materials? Can you help me access it on my devices?
  • Do you have books in different languages?
  • What services do you have for teens?
  • Do you have volunteer opportunities for children and teens? How can they volunteer or get involved here?
  • Do you have summer programs and reading incentives? How do we sign up?
  • My child is interested in applying for a library card. How can I help them get started? What do I need to provide since they’re under 18?
Photo by SUKJAI PHOTO on Shutterstock

Check Out Books

At the end of your visit, a librarian at the checkout station helps you check out your books. You have a lot of questions about their book borrowing policies. You might ask them…

  • Do you have late fees?
  • Where do I return my books? Can I return books without having to come inside?
  • Is it possible for me to sign up for alerts to track when my books are due?
  • Do you have a fine forgiveness program?
  • Can you issue temporary cards to visitors?
  • Can you mail or deliver books to my homebound friend or family member?
  • Do you have a self-checkout station?
  • Do you have a bookmobile or off-site book return location? Can I have books sent to those locations for pick up?
  • Are there other branches of this library? Can I pick up and return books at those locations as well?
  • Can I check out laptops, hotspots, tools, or bicycles here? What about at another library branch?
  • What is the most unusual thing you have available for check out at this library? What about at another library branch?
Photo by wavebreakmedia on Shutterstock

Always remember that librarians are there to help. There are no questions too complicated or straightforward for library services. Even if they don’t have an answer to your questions, they can give you resources to help you find support. They are there to help you and are more than happy to answer your questions.

Get to know your local library by exploring all their offered services. Review all your interests to find out if your library has any events, books, or resources that stand out to you.

When in doubt, ask your librarian for assistance!

After you get to know your library and fall in love with it, visit www.everylibrary.org to learn about advocating for libraries.

--

--

EveryLibrary
EveryLibrary

EveryLibrary fights for library funding. Any library budget anywhere should matter to every library everywhere. We are in this together.