Product Management

What Does it Mean to Be a Product Leader?

How I learned to transform the role and responsibilities of product management into leadership skills

Tom Comerford
Trust the Product
Published in
5 min readJun 23, 2020

--

The tagline on all of my social media accounts includes the same introduction: “Product Leader at Walmart eCommerce.” Once upon a time, and not terribly long ago, I introduced myself only with my official work titles. As I have reflected upon my journey, I realized that the skills that I developed as a product manager are highly extensible to people management. However, my tagline says leader rather than manager. My transformation from a product manager into a product leader actually had very little to do with people management. Instead, I have been able to master skills that enable me to influence others, manager a broader portfolio of work, and drive key results. So how do you translate product management into product leadership?

Image Source: Pexels

The first step is to truly understand leadership. The dictionary would have us believe that leadership is merely “the action of leading a group of people or an organization.” To many, leadership is therefore a title or a role that one is appointed to; it represents power and authority. True, many leaders are in positions of management, in which part of their job requires them to lead others. But…

--

--

Tom Comerford
Trust the Product

Product leader at Warby Parker with an MBA from NYU Stern