What Is Your Real First Love?

True confessions of an artist.

Froyle Davies
Everything Art

--

Photo by Tony Ross on Unsplash

What is it that drives you? What do you think about the moment you wake up? Your partner, your kids, or your car? Are you driven to succeed? Does your career path consume your attention?

If I am honest, my first love has always been the exhilaration of creating art. Starting with the first spark of an idea, through the colour selection process, paint application, and to the final moment of hanging the new painting. This energy is what gives me life.

Always On My Mind, acrylic on linen, 101 x 76cm, original painting (photo by author)

This painting, Always On My Mind, is my most recent and favourite painting. It is currently hanging in the Moments Exhibition at the Arts Centre in my town. It is also an acknowledgement that painting is my obsession.

When I decided to create this painting, I chose a range of harmonious colours in deep shades of reds, violets and dark blue-grey. As I applied the paint, I carefully placed each shape next to each other with strips of metallic pigments down the middle. What happens next is always magic and the most addictive part.

The colours reach out for each other and embrace. The ink spreads over the acrylic paint like a blanket…

--

--

Froyle Davies
Everything Art

Art, Creativity, and Inspiration. Stories to encourage you. Visual artist and hostel manager, living in New Zealand. www.froyleart.com