A HAPPY AL CARMINES

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
2 min readJul 18, 2019

--

Al Carmines and I were close friends as late-’50s students at Union Theological Seminary in New York. He was sharp as a tack and played piano with great skill. We went to lots of movies in Times Square and spent late nights at the West End Bar. We maintained our friendship through the years. He became a celebrated composer of original musicals in NYC and maintained his effervescent manner of wonder that already marked him as having a foothold on heaven. I was a critic of the church in Chicago, my magazine Renewal making waves.

My conversation just now was facilitated by Abba, who is my friend and guide.

+

A happy Al Carmines reminds me of a truth

I rarely knew him to be sad or blue

His positive was always so profuse

Anchored in Jesus and Good News

+

It was like taking up where we began

There is much more for him than he knew here

He has a deeper music way today

He revels in things he had never known

+

He knows that once again he will compose

But with input from music beyond him

Input from the entire universe

Tones rising from thinking miracles

+

He said we’ll go to movies once again

He says he is be young as he was then

Here the music he wrote’s still performed

The church we both served stands just as before

+

I must confess to feeling overwhelmed

Home to us all — such possibilities

Home that turns death into opening

Awakened to all that can be

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!