A Note to Harold Bloom

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2016

Reading is not dying. Some of us. Well at least I. I gave up on book publishing as I approached what the PI considers obsolescence unless one is a well-reputed soul such as yourself. I have in the interim created my own library of more than 100 Ebooks on Kindle. I could argue that I saw online as the locus of reading but that is not the case, Books will not disappear and, as more move away from cars and to the city, a book will again become the companion it has always been. No, I am writing with great purpose. I have designed a new form of book which consists of aphoristic chunks ordered in chapters of no more than seven such chunks and in books of less than 30 chapters. These I sell for the princely sum of $2.99. I have no publisher nor will I spend a nickel for ads. I have a Twitter site and have had it almost since Twitter began. I promote my books there and use Twitter as a more recondite research apparatus than any I have ever known. Some of my chunks are iambic pentameter or variations on such. I experiment with modes of rhetoric which you know well. And most of all I lead at 80 a life of exceptional pleasure out of the solitude and independence of an artist beholden to none. I had no idea you were here but in its infinite wisdom someone (an algorhythm I suspect) told me you were about. There may be a limit I do not know about on Facebook posts so I will stop now. All the best, S

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!