Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2019

--

Another account from my son Stephen who lives in Nevis, has a chicken farm and is a photographer, and helps his wife Denise who runs a school.

EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE

A Staples salesman said “ Now your info and photos will last forever”.

An old timer said to me once, nothing ever lasts forever.

I purchased a Lacie 500 gigabite hard drive and thinking no more,

thought I could store everything I had, and I had me a chore.

Not being a bore, I went to the laborious task of loading everything

on my Laci 500 gig hard drive, photos that I adore, and info that

I wanted to store

forever.

+

Then, months later, while transporting data,

the Laci dropped to the hard tile floor.

I tripped on the cord and it was no more!

+

I took it to a shop hoping for a repair, and the man said,

“Shouldn’t let it drop, smashed beyond repair”.

My external hard drive was a dashed shame, bashed up.

Lucky me, because my Mac stores most of the data,

and most old data and photos still stayed on my computer.

+

Lost was my hope that there was a good way to back up

data in an easy way for the future I say, and not in a light way.

Call me a photographer. My computer scanned negative film

for decades, slides, documents and more to store on the hard drive.

There came a time I could store no more on my Mac computer.

An external Lacie 500 gigabite hard drive was what I needed.

Yes, I was impeded because… I am a laggard, and like my old ways.

So, did my jump to new tech benefit me? No, I am still with my old Mac,

and no more external hard drive impulsive attacks. Yes, I have evolved,

and slowly, my computer data storage problem will hopefully be solved.

Stephen Rose

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!