beasts who can’t save

Fox Kerry
Everything Comes
Published in
1 min readNov 18, 2016

i tried to get that bird to speak; took it out to its old briar patch

i showed it those colors that well matched its beak, i asked it for wisdom to hatch

yet nothing it said, seeming nothing it heard, it just sat there and kept looking stoic

i cried out my bargains, told it my secrets, all those motions so anti-heroic

and yet it looked on, right past all my pleas, it wandered its quiet out yonder

and all i could do was get violently mad to decide what the dumb bird did ponder

his secrets were vital, what he’d heard was essential, one whisper could save half a city

but there came no recital, only stares irreverential, and a squawk void of knowledge and pity

--

--

Fox Kerry
Everything Comes

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.