THICK-ETT

CRIME

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2017

--

Reminiscences of a boy criminal

I was a boy criminal

sanitized and WASP

therefore exempt from law

able to eat shrimp cocktails without

missing a beat

+

The only block a nagging conscience

that came from nowhere but

what we once called

above

+

I was a boy criminal

I filched stuff from Herbie’s on Columbus Avenue

I did the same in other places

+

A cool young actress did the same years later

got the book thrown

I was the very soul of luck

+

Why would I

who now am presumed to be

a master of benignity

and goodness

not simply self-pardon

just see my childhood crimes

as little indiscretions

hardly worth a mention

+

Well you see

some people reading this

know well as I

exactly what the score was

+

I never ended up

where kids in gangs end up

or little boys who find

a George Zimmerman

on their tail

+

Come come

I am not stupid

Knew the drill then

Know it now

+

I was as universal then as now

Reality was all

and it still is

I’m still a thief

A criminal

Free walking

just like the President

CRIME

There’s nothing fancy in this

There’s no celebrity

And no

no shame

It is

It was

Like every day that passes

it could have been the end

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!