Democracy Ain’t Daid

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
2 min readMar 31, 2019

--

Don’t tell me it is

And drown me in elitist junk

And present yourself as an optimist

Democracy ain’t daid

It’s distorted

Attacked

Ruined by petty thieves

And moneyed cynics

I’ll tell you what it is

Listen up

It is the pristine sanctity of everyone on earth

It says each one is precious even the bozos I have named

It tells me all once-sane binary-nay sayers

Lost their bearings spending too much time trying to pound the past

into workable formulas for a future

that explicitly requires

past not be prologue

Democracy is not known by its most vocal defenders when they

kill it

Democracy is not known by suggesting that all votes

are the same

Democracy is known by freedom of the people

Universality of rights

Justice that rules

Democracy is only form when first spirit

Pitiful intellects cave before puny efforts of the powerful

Then trash, diss, and devalue

Their perorations are detritus before hard-blown winds of change

To understand the past is to reevaluate and revalue

not make the same mistakes

and justify them with contraventions of truth and beauty

This insults Heaven and denies freedom

We shall be a world of democracies

as in Heaven

We shall be a world of full disclosure

as in Heaven

We shall be a world of peace

as in heaven

We shall be in the embrace of unconditional Love

as in heaven

We are already there but only those who see inside themselves can know

I am sad for intellects gone missing

I am sad for corrupted intelligence

I am glad for the knowledge of the change

A heavenly boost

A hand up

Help toward where we’re bound

We shall write the history of the future

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!