DROWNED MAN

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes
2 min readJul 21, 2019

--

In the low to middle ‘40s

While the Second War raged on

I would walk alone for hours

In my odd state of freedom

+

Carl Schurz Park my destination

Thinking, musing all the while

South to Brearley, north to Fire Boat

Never bored, I carried on

+

At the North end I descended

To the Fire Boat in its dock

Left, a dark form lay face down

Motionless on the walkway

+

A lone form emerged from inside

“Dragged him up,” he shrugged and said

“You wonder how long he’s been dead,

From the look it’s been some time”

+

He said the sight was not for me

Then he departed for the day

I stood alone in perfect place

Silent, calm with the drowned man

No one came, no, no one came

One then two hours, no one came

+

Site Now

+

Finally I left as well

Went westward to the Automat

Never spoke a word about it

Still indelible right now

+

But now with my service in mind

I’ll see what heaven has to say

Ask, you’ll receive. I know, I know

I’ll ask Abba, yes, here I go

+

“Steve, your story is common

Disfigured bodies left unknown

They recycle just as you do

What was the effect on you’

+

‘I wondered why all eyes seemed closed

To one who needed to be known

Went back the next day, he was gone

I didn’t know then all live on

+

I wondered could I meet this man

What is his name, how does he look

What happened next, you will soon know

The Drowned Man soon spoke words to me

+

‘I watched you watching my body

I had been thrown into the deep

Till I could not be recognized

I saw it from the evening sky’

+

‘I changed my name when I came here

I made amends, I faced my fears

I was a third-rate criminal

Here you can change your name at will”

+

Needless to say, our talk went on

He does not hide his tawdry past

Heaven seems to know all things

And we can do the same at last

--

--

Stephen C. Rose
Everything Comes

steverose@gmail.com I am 86 and remain active on Twitter and Medium. I have lots of writings on Kindle modestly priced and KU enabled. We live on!